upgrading a laptop graphics card possible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2006, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default upgrading a laptop graphics card possible?

i currrently own a laptop which has an Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX 256MB. I was wondering if it is possible to upgrade it to the newest Nvidia GeForce Go 7900Gtx 512MB graphics card for laptops. Thanks for your time!

king0fhearts is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy

im not sure if u can or not...but i think u can...why would u want t anyways?

play bf2142?
join Bloody Pandas!
Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143

Stick with the 7800GTX... not really worth the price to upgrade in my opinion.
Khann is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

generally, you can't upgrade laptop video cards.
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

ya dude trust me uprgrading to that card will not produce any really noticeable results, If the lap top was built by someplace like alien ware, consult there customre support and ask them.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788

Almost guarenteed if it is NOT a MXM (I think thats the new line of removeable Laptop cards) then you cannot change out the video card.
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647

yeah i'm guessing you can't. most are built into the mobo (like mine)
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 12:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed

ok i need to add this cause is hasnt been said enough, why would you need to upgrade a 7800gtx!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?


dude build a desktop and with the money a new card like that would cost you would have everything but the graphiccs card
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
sailpog's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498

so if most are built into mobo ....cant you just change the mobo ??!!!
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
sailpog is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

Originally posted by sailpog
so if most are built into mobo ....cant you just change the mobo ??!!!
well.... then why not just build your own laptop?

and if you can find laptop mobo's, and are willing to risk shoving it in.. not knowing if it will fit in there or not... then go for it!

Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.