Upgrading..help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Question Upgrading..help

-AMD Athlon(tm) 64 processor +3400 1.8GHz
-512mb
-ATI Radeon X850Xt 256mb
-manufact-compaq presario

dont know what else to enter..anyhow my question is this:
what can i add to make my computer faster/better i can play games like Battlefield2 but it lags often and im wanting to know if its also possible to place everything in my tower to a new tower (current one sucks) anyhow im guessing more ram, and abetter processor? my limit atm is 450$ so kind of strapped, any help would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

Necromantix is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Yes, you can move it to a new case.

Yes, more RAM would help. Go for a gig, or two if you can afford it.

Odds are your CPU is a socket 754. Download and run Everest (http://www.majorgeeks.com/EVEREST_Fr...ion_d4181.html) and post back your CPU info, as well as your RAM info. Post your mobo make and model, too.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes, you're RAM is probably the biggest bottleneck, followed by the CPU( I think).
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

my CPU as is:
-AMD Athlon 64 2400MHz (12x200) 3400+
-clawhammer-512 S754

Memory is:
-512Mb (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
-(346Mb used)

thanks for the help thus far, so should i get another 512mb or can you add 1gig along with the 512mb, also the CPU, what is a good one but not to high priced for games, thanks.
Necromantix is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Definately upgrade your RAM. 512MB is definetly not enough for today's games. Some will tell you that you need 2GB to play BF2, but 1GB is all you really need. X850XT is a good card, and should play BF2 well.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

alright thanks bandwidthogg, so Ive gota good picture on the Memory, now any suggestions of the tower case? also is my processor fine? or should i geta new one.(if so any ideas on which) alright thanks (sleepy)
Necromantix is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

yea a 3400 is still very good. ur mem is the bottleneck
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

alright so im looking at www.tigerdirect.ca and looking in the memory, so im bent on gettin 1gig so altogether ill have 1.5g right, soo can anyone help with a good memory brand to buy from (I hear Ultra is good but not sure) also do you think futureshop will have memory there? (dont go there much).
Necromantix is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Try getting a 1gb stick of the Corsair ValueSelect memory.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145505
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.