Upgrading HD on Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 01:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 41
Default Upgrading HD on Dell

Hey everyone!

I am confused about what HD I need to upgrade my Dell Dimension 2400 with. To my understanding, I can use either SATA or IDE because all that is different are the wires (based on PZEROFGH's section in the sticky). So I can choose either one for my Dell and it will work?

On a side note, I am going to get a 7,200 rpm HD but then the 10,000 rpm crossed my mind. I decided to check it out, but then realized how much of a rip off they were based on storage/price. Will the 10,000 rpm HDs come down in price soon or should I just stick with the 7,200 rpm HD for everyday computing and NO games?

Thanks!
__________________

lancer player is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 04:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

i got a 10k hdd and there not worht it, i may sell mine and just get a decent 7.2k, open up the case and see if the mobo has sata connectores if it does then get a nice wd 250gb sata hdd
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 04:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

It appears that you have an IDE only type system. So I would suggest a decent 7200rpm hard drive. and if you need to replace the IDE ribbon cable so you have 2 connections and you should be good to go... but those cases are not usually set up to handle 2 drive so you might want open the box first and look.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
It appears that you have an IDE only type system. So I would suggest a decent 7200rpm hard drive. and if you need to replace the IDE ribbon cable so you have 2 connections and you should be good to go... but those cases are not usually set up to handle 2 drive so you might want open the box first and look.
I have to open about 10 dells a day and let me tell you...

.015% of their product design budget goes into case design.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

LOL.. Yea I know... those boxes Suc... even the newer cases they make with the GX620's and 650's aren't that good, but they are designed a little better.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

^^ you kidding, I was gonna start a thread on how good the dell cases are, my first dell case I encountered a few years ago was ok, plastic with metal interior, pretty solid feeling, nice button to open it up, and great cable management, whisper quiet of course too, new dell came the other day, and its even better, for the first time there’s a case where ya don’t need a screwdriver to get to the pci slot thing, its got a nifty catch, again good cable management, adds are sideways, makes it so much easier to access them, and it also opens with a little button, and feels so solid.
harry18 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

I have to argue about the 10k rpm drives. I have 2 in raid and they are fantastic and blazing fast. I do lot of gaming and I make samples for use in concert for my band (www.myspace.com/sighlo) using fruity loops and Reason, and having the raptors is awesome. Everything gets done so fast, they are rock solid. I'm not exactly impatient but I hate waiting for games to load or for .mp3 to be created so I love these drives. They are not cheap but are really great. I have slower drives for my back ups/picture storage etc. But windows and all my applications are on the raid array.
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
I have to open about 10 dells a day and let me tell you...

.015% of their product design budget goes into case design.
you too?
I don the same thing, 600m's all day.. the quota is 15. and I definitly agree with you.. the easiest parts to break require the most work to fix......
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i love my RAID 0 Raptors (10k rpm) i can load windows in ~4-5seconds!

the load screen w/ the bars that scroll across below the Windows logo at the begining usually only makes it across once, never 2 full scrolls.

all of my games (FEAR, HL2, UT04, AOE3, Q4) all load in like 10 secs... i personally couldnt believe how fast it is. if u dont game though, i doubt u'd notice a diff except startup
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.