Upgrading a hard drive to move to Vista 64-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2008, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Default Upgrading a hard drive to move to Vista 64-bit

I've decided that having 4GB of memory and not being able to use it all in Vista 32-bit is not good enough for me. Roughly, I have the following system:

EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
2 - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB in RAID 1 configuration
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI

So...I currently have the RAID 1 running and have just purchased a new 1TB drive to install Vista 64-bit. I have not yet purchased a second drive to mirror it to yet as I want to make sure the 64-bit experience works for me.

Well...This is about where I'm stuck. I have the two old drives in the RAID 1 configuration, but I want the operating system on the 1TB drive. Can the 1TB drive be set up in the RAID utility or do I have to shutdown the RAID to use the 1TB as a single drive? If I disable the RAID, what happens to the 500GB drives?

I'm new to the whole RAID world and I haven't touched this since I set up the computer a year and a half ago. Quite simply, I'd like to run the operating system off of the 1TB drive and keep the other 500GBs around for data storage. Eventually, I'd like to add another 1TB in the future for a mirror.

Any help (if any of this made sense!) would be appreciated!
__________________

ycoidi2000 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Upgrading a hard drive to move to Vista 64-bit

as long as you arent trying to add the 1tb to the raid 1...you should be fine to have the OS on the 1tb and the raid 1 setup on the 500gbs....but remember that the 1tb wont have a mirror image since it's not on the raid
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Default Re: Upgrading a hard drive to move to Vista 64-bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainOblivious View Post
as long as you arent trying to add the 1tb to the raid 1...you should be fine to have the OS on the 1tb and the raid 1 setup on the 500gbs....but remember that the 1tb wont have a mirror image since it's not on the raid

Here's the next idiotic question. When I have RAID enabled in the BIOS, the drives are not visibile. The RAID utility sees them...just not the BIOS. Do I set up the 1TB in the RAID utility?
ycoidi2000 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Upgrading a hard drive to move to Vista 64-bit

shouldn't need to setup the 1tb in the raid utility since it will have no advantages of being in raid since it is single
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does cloning a hard drive work in vista? EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-31-2008 01:28 PM
BSOD problems yet again. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 36 08-25-2008 07:54 PM
Vista cant detect my 2nd Hard drive Prophet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 11-20-2007 08:30 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.