Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260? - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2008, 04:17 AM   #71 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
true, but really, with a high enough res, who needs AA? playing a game without any AA enabled, you won't notice much of a difference. unless your rig lags at higher resolutions. In which case it'll lag with AA on anyway.
Even with super high pixel density like 1680x1050 on a 19" screen some AA will be needed....
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:19 AM   #72 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

yeah and even if its not heaps noticeable if better AA ability for the 4870 comes cheaper than the core 216 why not go for it?
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:12 PM   #73 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Baron5 where do you see the 4870 cheaper then the 216?

Just switching gears here. I see some stated it depends on which type of res you are running and refresh rate I am sure matters. So question, which of these two would be better for performance? Please note: one is my LCD TV and one is my LCD MONITOR

TV: Sony, KDL 46XBR3
Monitor: LG, W2252TQ
Chad711 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:14 PM   #74 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

what brand did you get. i would recommend a XFX but i didnt see any on newegg so i'll recommend a EVGA.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:17 PM   #75 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
Baron5 where do you see the 4870 cheaper then the 216?

Just switching gears here. I see some stated it depends on which type of res you are running and refresh rate I am sure matters. So question, which of these two would be better for performance? Please note: one is my LCD TV and one is my LCD MONITOR

TV: Sony, KDL 46XBR3
Monitor: LG, W2252TQ
the LG will be better...I picked one out for a friend and when it was all set up I was quite impressed. Very nice monitor
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:21 PM   #76 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
the LG will be better...I picked one out for a friend and when it was all set up I was quite impressed. Very nice monitor
That was quick. Do you know the performance of my tv? Just making sure we are being fair to my TV here!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:24 PM   #77 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

no, but I can tell you it's much worse than the LG monitor. If the screen size is much larger that might be something to consider though
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:27 PM   #78 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

well I can get a higher res out of the tv, that I know since it supports 1080p. However I am concerned about performance of games and refresh rate. yes games LOOK better but I am not sure if they will perform better. For instance can I run Crysis smoother on the LG monitor?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:16 PM   #79 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cali
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to norcrawler Send a message via MSN to norcrawler
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

correct me if im wrong.
but probly not seeing how monitors have higher res
im playing on my tv right now/ a 37'' lcd and the res is only 1366x 768.
it still looks really good in games tho
norcrawler is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:52 PM   #80 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by norcrawler View Post
correct me if im wrong.
but probly not seeing how monitors have higher res
im playing on my tv right now/ a 37'' lcd and the res is only 1366x 768.
it still looks really good in games tho
It is a TV not a monitor. Monitor have a bigger resolution than a TV. My 52" HDTV resolution is less than a 24" LCD Widescreen Monitor.
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU (gtx 260?) ThirdLeft152 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-02-2008 05:35 PM
2 X Gtx 260 Sli Or 2 X Ati Hd4870 Crossfire? FOX-DIE New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-07-2008 08:47 PM
Upgrading GPU Drizzt Laptops and Notebooks 7 12-07-2007 10:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.