Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260? - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2008, 12:31 PM   #121 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Yeah that was kind of ambiguous. Sorry I meant think about it because it is better than the GTX280.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 12:34 PM   #122 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

ok thanks! You guys know anything about monitors? Go jump in my new thread for the monitor!

these are both xmas and birthday gifts so hoping the price comes down over the next 30+ days!
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 12:36 PM   #123 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

You usually pick the monitor first....for example a 4850x2 on a 1440x900 monitor would be ridiculous.

What size are you wanting
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 12:59 PM   #124 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

As a general rule of thumb Samsung makes great monitors, assuming you have the coin.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 01:32 PM   #125 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

Sorry I made a new thread for the monitor since I had some questions that were off topic. It's a "motha" lol

Question about this monitor. Acer G24
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 01:33 PM   #126 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

If youre gonna get a GTX, get the core 216 not the 280.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:17 PM   #127 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

On the 4850 x2 I read the system req. on it. Will this work with my new mobo? (Tpower I45)

Also, the 4850 x2 is much better then the 4870 1GB?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:21 PM   #128 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

just get a GTX 260 core 216, its almost as good as the GTX 280 and the price rance is more than $100, than when you save up a bit more, buy another one and dual it
__________________
Check out my webdesign gallery at www.Techmaster05.deviantart.com
Techmaster05 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:24 PM   #129 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

^^ He can't sli on a biostar i45.

The 4850x2 is faster than the 48701gb.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:32 PM   #130 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Upgrading gpu: HD4870, GTX280 or 260?

So my mobo supports xfire but not Sli? I assumed if it supports one it supports the other. Guess not?
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU (gtx 260?) ThirdLeft152 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-02-2008 05:35 PM
2 X Gtx 260 Sli Or 2 X Ati Hd4870 Crossfire? FOX-DIE New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-07-2008 08:47 PM
Upgrading GPU Drizzt Laptops and Notebooks 7 12-07-2007 10:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.