Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2008, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Question

Ok so last holiday season I bought this baby, ( for crisis mostly i know i know )

Asus 650i Sli Mobo
8800GT 512mb eVGA
2gb ram
G15 keyboard
Razer Krait gaming mouse
Intel core 2 duo 3.0ghz
Vista Home Premium 64 bit ( ugh i wish i can stab it with a wooden cross)
For the power supply I'm not quite sure i think its 450.

___________________________
Now I'm on a 1000 dollar limit
I was thinking of buying the Nvidia GTX 280 1gb
and maybe buying 3 more gigs of ram
but my processor is kinda slow, but thats also expsensive, Idk what do you guys think, my main goal is to be able to run GTA IV for pc, which I can't atm.

I'm also wondering if a GTX 280 will fit in my mobo
__________________

Moffman is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

I was going to post helpful comment... but then I saw "geek help"
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moffman View Post
I'm also wondering if a GTX 280 will fit in my mobo
It will. Not sure but I think the gtx280 is bigger than a 8800gt so might wanna make sure it will physically fit in the case. I know my comp can't fit a card much bigger than my 8800gt.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I was going to post helpful comment... but then I saw "geek help"
It's ok, I'm sure he's a geek too.

To the OP, what processor do you have? And the GTX 280 is about 10.5" long.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

If this is for pure gaming, then I think your cpu is fine....i would get a new video card and 2 more GB of ram.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I was going to post helpful comment... but then I saw "geek help"
Of course im a geek

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
If this is for pure gaming, then I think your cpu is fine....i would get a new video card and 2 more GB of ram.
Thats what i was thinking,btw i checked the GTX 280 can fit in the mobo idk about the case though it should its pretty big.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
It's ok, I'm sure he's a geek too.

To the OP, what processor do you have? And the GTX 280 is about 10.5" long.
Intel
Moffman is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moffman View Post
Of course im a geek



Thats what i was thinking,btw i checked the GTX 280 can fit in the mobo idk about the case though it should its pretty big.



Intel
Can you give a model name?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

Yea I know it's Intel, but what is it exactly? Like E6550, E7200? Because if it's similar to one of those, then you won't have to upgrade your cpu.

Oh and you don't have to do multiple posts within seconds of each other. Just use the edit button.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Can you give a model name?
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

:vernong1992
lol so is this ok, Or should I upgrade? I know the GTX 280 is like 450-500 bucks
Moffman is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help

3.0ghz..

Its either an e8400 or e6850

EDIT: beaten to it
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My gaming rig for under $600 tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-06-2008 09:59 PM
Gaming rig £650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM
Help picking out parts for gaming rig Vip3r New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-28-2007 11:16 PM
1200$ gaming rig Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-29-2007 01:29 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.