Upgrading existing midrange system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2010, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default Upgrading existing midrange system

Hello there.

At the moment, I have an M2R32-MVP crossfire motherboard, AMD Athlon x2 6000+ processor, and nVidia GTS250 graphics card. I am looking to upgrade individual components, but I'm not exactly sure what would net me the best bang for my buck. I had planned to buy some combination of the following:

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz
A mid-high end graphics card (think 200 - 300 $), like the GeForce GTX 465
ASUS M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard for both AM3 compatibility and possible future SLI upgrade path.

A friend of mine just purchased a new motherboard and CPU (x4 Phenom I think), upgrading from an older dual core Athlon of some sort, but kept his Geforce 9800GT. He reported massive frame rate increases for such things as tree detail in the Terokkar Forest of WoW. So now I'm wondering if I might save some money and get a decent upgrade just by upgrading the CPU and keeping my current video card, or whether that upgrade would be tiny and I should spring for a new graphics card too?
__________________

DEADFA11 is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

whats your budget?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 08:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Budget is not fixed. I just want to get the best value for my money. I'd like to be clear that I do not want the best that money can buy, as that is simply not good value.

I suppose my question boils down to whether my CPU (Athlon x2 6000+) is causing a bottleneck situation (with a GTS250 in a PCI-E 16x slot).

Edit: and I know I can verify whether said bottlenecking is happening by overclocking the CPU in steps and checking for framerate improvements, but I am away and do not have access to the computer. I would like to order some components before I get home, so they will be there when I arrive. I'll be gone for a few weeks.

Another question I have, which seems to have varying answers across the internet: Do games now, or will they in the short-term future, take advantage of more than 2 CPU cores?

If the answer is no, it seems like a better investment, gaming-wise, to buy a super high speed dual-core. Perhaps quad, as I can't find an AMD dual-core clocked at more than 3.2ghz. From a non-gaming standpoint on the other hand, I would prefer the hex-core, since my research involves highly parallel problems such as those encountered in machine learning.

However, at almost twice the price, I would rather only spring for a hex-core if it would also noticeably improve game performance.
DEADFA11 is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

Quote:
Another question I have, which seems to have varying answers across the internet: Do games now, or will they in the short-term future, take advantage of more than 2 CPU cores?
Most definitely yes. Battlefield Bad Company 2 plays on a dual core (keeps my 4200 X2 pegged at 100% or close to it), but it hums on a quad. BC2 is not the only game by any means, and newer/upcoming games will utilize multiple cores more and more.

I don't know if any current games can use all of a hex or not. Since they are so new games probably aren't coded for them yet. I really don't see buying one for a gaming system, but I could be wrong.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

Believe it or not, the 250 isn't a bad card at all. Not high end, but high enough to run decently.

If you're going to update, I'd do the mobo now. Youre current cpu will run it, and you're gpus good, so updateing the mobo, for future cpu update is the only reason to. However, you'll need new ram as well.

Honestly, maybe save up a bit long and get it all at once so prices come down, or you decide to go intel.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

If the only reason to update the motherboard is for the possibility of a future CPU upgrade, then I don't see the point. Especially since I would need to buy another 4 gb of DDR3 to replace the older generation, in exchange for little to no performance increase.

In that case, consider this option: buy only a GTX465, keeping current CPU.

Would I then experience bottlenecking due to my older CPU (6000+ X2)?
DEADFA11 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 12:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

Yes, it would.

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT55TFBGRBOX
&
GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

$310

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
$105

Total = $415

OR

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGIBOX
$160

GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
$140

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
$105

Total = $405
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

In the interest of proactively staying up to date, I think I'll go for the higher clocked 6-core:

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz

Since game designers will surely take advantage of this level of parallelism once it becomes more commonplace. As for motherboard and RAM, those that you have suggested look good. I'll look into those.

One thing: I notice the motherboard you listed doesn't support SLI. Is this a specific choice, or could I easily find an equivalent one that does?
DEADFA11 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

NewEgg carries a total of four AM3 SLI boards... two from MSI and two from Asus. Of those this one edges out:
Newegg.com - ASUS M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

I don't care for the sound chip (VIA), but it will work. Nvidia used to be the top dog for AMD chipsets, but not anymore.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading existing midrange system

That's the one I had in mind, looking at the ones they offered. I just want SLI to keep the options open as far as upgrade paths go. Nothing worse than getting to the point when you need an upgrade, and realizing you need to buy a whole new system.

I'll think on it for a while, and if I'm still feeling ambitious in a few days, I'll have a bunch of new hardware in the mail. Thanks for all the help!
__________________

DEADFA11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with upgrading an old system Rednef25 System Upgrades 3 01-22-2010 04:14 AM
Upgrading my system. eZiii New Systems | Building and Buying 1 01-19-2010 05:17 AM
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Upgrading my system. AMD fanatic... Intel?? Jayce System Upgrades 3 09-27-2008 09:54 PM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.