Upgrading a "Dell" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Unhappy Upgrading a "Dell"

yeah a dell... well because of the 300 watt psu my upgrades are somewhat limited.. here is my system:

BTX Dell E510 Case
P4 HT 3.0
Intel 945G Chipset (able to handle 1066mhz FSB thats a plus)
four 240 pin ram slots with two samsung 512s
DvD burner
80 GB Seagate HD
Integrated Sigmatel Audio
Integrated Radeon x600se 256mb (oc'd with Ati tool)
Integrated Network
305 watt psu (crap)



ok here is my video card upgrade and i'm thinking because my computer is not stacked with cd roms and HD's i think i could power this card..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161164

I'm not really a fan of a page file so i'm gonna add some more ram
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145526

also what else should i upgrade? could i replace my dell motherboard with this?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135218
__________________

__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

1) I would get a bigger power supply.
2) Make sure you have PCI-express slot
3) Motherboard may not fit, Dell makes proprietary cases
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

in other words build a new computer....


why did i buy a dell... curse you dell!
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

What I would buy is a case, motherboard, PSU, RAM, and video card. Then just use everything else from your Dell, on your new system.

So practically a new system except for the drives and the CPU.

[EDIT]
From your model number, it says BTX. That COULD mean the motherboard is in the BTX form factor. I know there are BTX versions of processors, so I dont know if that means much for you or not. It could mean that your current processor wont work in a ATX motherboard. However, I am not very knowledgful of BTX mobos.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

ok i figured out how much of my psu i'm using form this site.. and because i have 3 pci slots open, (yes i have x16 PCIe slot) only one dvd rom and one hard drive i can power the video card i want... Also screw that motherboard i looked up. my motherboard is full 64bit capable and can handle FSB's at 1066mhz

in the end my dell can last me about another year before ill need to do what you said athrax, build a new comp.

how good is this video card anyway? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102505
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It's okay, I'd consider it mid range. What games are you trying to play?
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 03:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default

A dell is very hard to upgrade, becuz it's brandname machine, what i would say is to buy a tower, big tower, a motherboard, and a mice.
crazy_jason520 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Upgrading a "Dell"

Quote:
Originally posted by ManBearPig
yeah a dell... well because of the 300 watt psu my upgrades are somewhat limited.. [/url]
something else that limits u is that its Dell and u cant upgrade it. they are big jerks, and want all money going to them, a55h0l3z
john3 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 08:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i had a dell when i got out of high school a while back, i tried upgrading the RAM using advice from some people that come to find out didnt really know what they were talking about.... ended up frying my mobo. dell has proprietary ram or something.... to late now!

moral of the story: dont take bad advice (check everything people tell you twice!)

alternate moral of the story: dont get a dell! (doesnt help you any, but hind sight is 20/20 lol)

"Dude! I'm gettin ripped off!"
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

if you do upgrade the dell, make the first thing the PSU, that one is clearly no good other than that dont upgrade anything. stick with it until you build a new system next year or whenever you planned and then just take the drives, and maybe the CPU and of course the PSU out of the dell and use that in the new system
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.