Upgrading a dell - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 06:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

since it has an x300 card (now they have x300 integrated chip.. but yours is a bit old, so it must be the dedicated card) you most likely have a pci-express slot. as long as the new video card you're getting doesn't use (much) more power than the x300, then your powersupply should be able to handle it. just make sure the powersupply meets the video card's minimum requirements. shouldn't be too bad. no guarantees
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 06:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

Dell's can have video cards upgraded. Trust me, I have an old Dell 8200 and the video card upgraded perfectly fine. Most of these people have no clue what they are talking about when they say that you can't upgrade a DELL. The things you can't upgrade are PSU's, CPU's, Mobo's, and cases.
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 06:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Millenniumtiger
Dell's can have video cards upgraded. Trust me, I have an old Dell 8200 and the video card upgraded perfectly fine. Most of these people have no clue what they are talking about when they say that you can't upgrade a DELL. The things you can't upgrade are PSU's, CPU's, Mobo's, and cases.
C4 and an open field still is your best choice for a Dell IMO. :
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
C4 and an open field still is your best choice for a Dell IMO. :
i agree.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

I used a Dell (Dimension 4600 2.6GHz - 20 x 133) for 2.5 years and upgraded VGa cards twice ( 1st-Nvidia card: can't recall the model; 2nd ATI X850 Pro) both times were effortless. Maybe I got lucky.

However, when it came to a CPU upgrade... Well, I ended up building a entirely new system. After what I have learned, I'd do what RicoDirenzo suggests.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 06:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Ok thanks for your input guys --- and to those who keep reminding me how Dells suck, I know they aren't the best quality PCs, but I actually got it given to me, so to only pay the cost of a graphics card to get it up to relatively good performance is worth it.
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 01:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

LOL, i've done alot of upgrades to my dell, and not one hiccup. I've added a harddrive, upgraded it from 256mb to 1gb no problem. Upgraded my mx440 to a fx5200 then a 6800 no problems with either one. Then cut out a hole on the side where the dell logo used to be, works fine. Then bought a zalman vf700-cu, and a pci slot fan, both work fantasticly, and all running fine on a dell stock PSU.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 04:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

I have an 8200

I have upgraded the video card from a Geforce 3 {AGP} To ATI 9800XT..no problem at all

Also have upgraded the CPU from 1.9Ghz To 2.6Ghz...no problem

Also added some more ram....no problem

My problem is i am now out of upgrades for it....and yes i am going to try and build my own when i get a new one
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 07:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Whirlwind
I have an 8200

I have upgraded the video card from a Geforce 3 {AGP} To ATI 9800XT..no problem at all

Also have upgraded the CPU from 1.9Ghz To 2.6Ghz...no problem

Also added some more ram....no problem

My problem is i am now out of upgrades for it....and yes i am going to try and build my own when i get a new one
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder...if that takes your elevator to the top floor.....woot!:amazed:
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.