upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2007, 04:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

939 featured dual channel, 754 didn't.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 10:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

Well, I know that I want 4GB. 2GB isn't doing the job for me at times. All I'm wondering is if I get two sticks of 2GB for a total of 4GB, later on maybe when I like get retarded or something and decide I want 8GB (which i KNOW im never going to need..), will I just be able to buy another two sticks and just put them in the other RAM slots for a total of 8GB?
Or to make it more practical, can I take four 1GB sticks and get 4GB? I've never used the other two RAM slots nor do I know anyone who has, so I'm just wondering.

Thanks, I'm really excited about getting the e6600 and a nice water block for it! 3.4 (which seems to be the lowest clock I've seen mentioned) is a really nice number. I can probably get more too.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 10:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

If you really want 4gb, than yes get four 1gb sticks for 4gb. Try and match them all, so you can run them in dual channel.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 07:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

Well, that answers my question. I'm wondering why you told me to get four 1GB sticks though. It's about $100 cheaper to get 2 2GB stick. at newegg anyway.
Quote:
G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
for $289 US.
That brings me to another question though.. and may answer my first one in this post lol. will 800MHz RAM hold me back from realizing my 3.5GHz dreams?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 07:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

No...those G. Skills are capable of overclocking to DDR2-900 or DDR2-1000 speeds.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

You only need your RAM at 800mhz to overclock your E6600 to 3.6 anyway (400x9).
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 07:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

Ahh that's something else I didn't know about DDR2, the default FSB is 400 on those mobos?

How high does the multiplier go on the e6600?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

It's stock and highest is x9.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

I don't know if this list will work for someone who is not logged in.
https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...asp?ID=4219905
Try it and take a look. How is that list? I picked that motherboard because it had a lot of good overclocking reviews and was a great price, and that RAM did as well.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:12 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions

Not a very good mobo.. You're paying a lot of money to get Fatal1tys names stamped on it and not much else. If you don't want to spend too much go for a P6N SLI-FI or DS3 or something.

RAM looks like a really good deal for 275AR.

Other then that, just know that you might have a few extra problems with the 64 bit Vista then you would with 32 bit but it should still work well.
__________________

mrfluffles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading parts Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-02-2007 08:45 PM
Several questions about CPUs/overheating Nekriss421 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2007 06:13 AM
Could someone answer these questions... tech_to_be Technology Careers and Education 2 04-24-2007 04:00 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.