Upgrading computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2006, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Upgrading computer

Right I've just upgraded (to what's in my sig now)...
What nobody told me was that I had to re-install windows because i came from a fairly old system (Athlon xp2500 AGP).

Ok to avoid losing all my data etc, I didn't totally format my Hard drive, I just kind of re-installed windows over the top of my other one... It already detected that windows was installed and replaced some core component files.

So now when I come back to the log in screen for windows and try to login it won't let me, it asks for me to enter my activation code (I'll do that in about 4hrs when I get home)...

Now my question is, When I log back into Windows after entering my activation code, will all my stuff be exactly the same as i left it even though some core files have been changed? Or will I have to do a major overhaul and fix up of the system?

I JUST WANT IT TO WORK ******* LOL.

Get back to me asap
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

What I would do in your scenario is get a Raptor 10k rpm drive or just a 7200rpm one and install a brand new Windows, then remove Windows from the other drive, and then you'll have access to all of your non-Windows data.
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

did you repair your windows install? or over write it? to repair is your best bet, cause your user accounts will still be there. windows will only be reconfigured for you new machine.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Does it matter that both my current Drives are ATA133 and not SATA?


**EDIT**
yes i repaired it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

WHen you repair it does just as you said and replaces the operating system files only. Once you activate your data will still be there like you left it, and most likely even your system settings will be the same.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.