Upgrading Comp for BF2 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 08:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to Grumpy
Default

If I am to stay with my current mobo, I'm thinking of getting a card like one of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122195

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150102

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121188

Please post any comments, thanks.
__________________

Grumpy is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:03 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

6800GT's are definetly the way to go, well if you can afford it the 7800GT or gtx's are extremely nice!
But the new Raedon X1800 series are pretty much on par with the 7800GTX's and in some respects.. better.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:11 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Hes only got AGP...
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Ahh yes I forgot soz! :P

Yeha I'd aim for the top model 6800GT then.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:19 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Just get one of those above cards....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:26 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yeah any of the above will be fine, the only differance i can see in all 3 cards was the cooling.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 03:16 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to superbeetle173
Default

If you are going to replace MB, get rid of that tired old P4. Either go with socket T (New Intel) or even better, go with an AMD A64. For one it is 64-bit ( a year from now it WILL matter) and also because AMD has taken the memory processor off the MB and put it on the CPU. You will also want to go with the Socket 939 AMD. Socket 754 is (will soon be) entirlly Sempron.
superbeetle173 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 03:55 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

your best option: trashcan

i was thinkin...
GIGABYTE GA-K8N Pro-SLI mobo---> 108
7800GT-----------------------------> ~350
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice ------> 190
then he'd be toly set for the future too_____
and be more than pimp for now------> ~650


or else just get the 6800GT, but then hed have to do more upgrading in the future
but still, trashcan is your best option.
__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 03:59 AM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

sometimes the trashcan isnt a viable option
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 12:43 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Look at this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813170143

It supports Socket 478 pentiums and has a PCI Express slot. However, make sure you have a SATA hard drive though..
__________________

Kilew is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.