UPGRADING from Athlon64 / 3700+,etc. Help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Smile UPGRADING from Athlon64 / 3700+,etc. Help?

Hello to all ! I am pleased to be here. I have built some computers,including my present rig,a bit older. It is: Athlon 64/ 3700+ on DFI Lan Party Utf-350 Mobo.
1 gig Corsair XMS ram,Raptor drives,standard opticals, an average video card.
Antec Sonata case, Seasonic Tornado 400.
Like an old T-Bird car from the fifties(maybe) compared to what you all may be used to.
I am a musician,a fledgling writer,and need graphics for sending,creating,receiving data from customers and friends. I use the PC for work and play,in other words.

My question is,would the dual core Intel @ 3.4 ghz on a decent board provide me with the speed and agility Intel is famous for? Allowing,of course,for a purchase in the near future for a nice vid card and sound other than the on board i use now.

Speed improvement here? My PC does not like multi-tasking very much. It
gets jittery and clogs up when downloading while playing music,etc.

Tiger and others have kits and combos that are intriguing to say the least,and I have used AMD so far. Was considering Intel this trip.

Appreciative of all assistance. Good weekend!!

OldWorldBraveMan is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: UPGRADING from Athlon64 / 3700+,etc. Help?

Yes if its a Core 2 Duo/Quad

No if its a Pentium D this would almost be a downgrade

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: UPGRADING from Athlon64 / 3700+,etc. Help?

.....Thank you...I could get,say,a 6600gt at a cheap price,and two gigs of new ram,better psu.......to upgrade what I already have .....
OldWorldBraveMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help re upgrading Abertil New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-02-2008 03:27 PM
Upgrading help odie072 System Upgrades 4 01-14-2008 03:33 PM
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 10:04 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 06:21 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.