Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2008, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

My machine is in need of a reformat so I think I'm just gonna go all the way and upgrade it as well. I'm gonna keep my video cards for now although they will be upgraded to a single unit later so a SLI motherboard is not a must. I do enjoy a bit of OCing though. I've also got a 64bit version of xp as well.

So if I could stay under $400 for:
Processor
Motherboard
Memory

That would make my day.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops If you are a big multi-tasker then a quad core might be needed but its runs hotter so a C2D will be able to get higher clocks and therefore is better at gaming.
Newegg.com - ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

Thanks man.

I multitask a good bit but my current AMD handles what I can throw at it just fine. Where it has been lacking lately is in games.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

I just rechecked the speeds of the E8500 you might be better off with a E8200 or E8400 and overclocking them to the E8600 speeds. The cash you save through doing that will get you a nice heatsink like the Tuniq tower 120 or thermaltake inferno (huge check reviews for mobo compatibilty) or thermaltake ultra 120. Sorry for that slip up wasn't concentrating .

Is it just me or are the 8200 and 8400 the same price on the egg :s I do hate you yanks for your amazingly cheap hardware. I have spent the equivalent of $4000 on mine and its no record breaker
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I just rechecked the speeds of the E8500 you might be better off with a E8200 or E8400 and overclocking them to the E8600 speeds. The cash you save through doing that will get you a nice heatsink like the Tuniq tower 120 or thermaltake inferno (huge check reviews for mobo compatibilty) or thermaltake ultra 120. Sorry for that slip up wasn't concentrating .

Is it just me or are the 8200 and 8400 the same price on the egg :s I do hate you yanks for your amazingly cheap hardware. I have spent the equivalent of $4000 on mine and its no record breaker
Thanks again.

I'll probably stay with the stock heat sink and speeds for the moment. I've got a nice Zalman on my AMD currently, so I have a grasp of the importance of quality heat sinks when OCing.

The 8200 and the 8400 are showing up as the same price for me as well.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

i guess that makes the decision an easy one, then
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

The thing making you lag in games is that 7600gt

I'd say get a good Biostar I45/ e8400 / G-Skill Black 4gb DDR2 Kit...

use your 7600gt until you can save for a better GPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
The thing making you lag in games is that 7600gt

I'd say get a good Biostar I45/ e8400 / G-Skill Black 4gb DDR2 Kit...

use your 7600gt until you can save for a better GPU
I agree. I do have 2 of them running in SLI and OCed so they were hanging tough until recently. GPU is definitely next on the list.

Seems to be a pretty unanimous verdict.

Do you guys think it's worth saving up a bit more and going for some higher quality/faster parts? Or is this a good price point to stay at?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 11:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

That's a good price point. I say go for Vern's build, that would be a good gaming system and would last for a while. Then eventually save up and get a better vid card.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Upgrading from an AMD X2 to an Intel Core

You claimed that your 7600 GT's in SLI were doing fine in gaming until recently.

It would be wiser to go with a more powerful graphics card first. That is if gaming is a major concern for you.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello AMD Socket G34 Trotter New Technology and Products 45 12-27-2008 06:33 PM
Inquiry regarding apathy toward specific companies Apokalipse Off Topic Discussion 84 07-03-2008 01:48 PM
AMD gains on Intel TRDCorolla1 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-03-2008 08:09 AM
CPU: AMD 6400+ vs Intel E6550 ChingChong23 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-30-2008 06:07 PM
what kinda CPU for this kinda pc? taekwondo New Systems | Building and Buying 45 12-08-2007 01:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.