Upgrading an AMD Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2013, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Upgrading an AMD Build

Going to buy new parts on the 21st.

getting a 4350 getting the GtX Nuetron SSD 120gb

but I'm looking for a GOD CPU Cooling fan and PSU

thinking about this PSU

SeaSonic M12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
__________________

__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

You'll want an AIO Hydro for the FX. IMO, money wasted but I know you already have the board.
PSU is good.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

Yea I'll be upgrading to intell sometime at teh start of the fall smester
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

Also is this liquid cooling?
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

Yes Corsair AIO Hydro coolers are closed loop liquid cooling.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

ahhh ok would the H60 be ok?
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

It'll cool stock and mild overclocks well, but don't expect very high OCs with it. It's a small unit.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

I Don't really OC lol
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

If you don't OC then it should drop temps 10-20 degrees below the stock solution easy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Upgrading an AMD Build

Ok nice thank's again dude. you a life saver
__________________

__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.