Upgrading, again... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2010, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Upgrading, again...

I'm upgrading again and want to know what you think of my choices. Any suggestions are very welcome.

MB: from Newegg.com - EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard to Newegg.com - ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

I've had freezing problems with the evga board, otherwise I wouldn't change the MB. Should I try another/same evga MB?

GPU: from Newegg.com - EVGA 01G-P3-1285-AR GeForce GTX 285 SC Edition 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card to Newegg.com - EVGA 015-P3-1482-AR GeForce GTX 480 (Fermi) SuperClocked 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card (or GTX 470?)

I do heavy gaming at 5040x1050. Will a 480 or 470 better suit my needs?

CPU: from i7 920 C0 to I7 920 D0 (o/c 4.0+ ghz)

RAM: from Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P1600LV6GK (6gb) to Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH (8gb)

HD: Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive (x3, 2 in raid0) to Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive (x3, 2 in raid0)

Had 1 drive fail, outside warranty and another on the way out. Trying WD.


I plan on keeping the following components (suggestions if any?)

PSU: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
CPU HS: Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
OS: Vista Ultimate 64-bit (w7 sometime)
Case: NZXT TEMPEST


So, that is my planned upgrade. What do you think?
__________________

insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

You've had freezing problems with the EVGA E758-A1, can you elaborate? If it's not a problem we can't solve then I would RMA the mobo and use the replacement.

Go with the GTX 480 over the GTX 470 if your gaming at High Resolutions. I wouldn't get a SC "SuperClocked" version, I have (2) of the regular EVGA 480's and they easily overclock to the same speeds as the SC version.

The i7 920 D0 rules

Stick with the OCZ Platinum (3x2GB) DDR3 1600. Also the G.Skill kit you linked to is only a (2x2GB) kit. The i7 920 has a Triple Channel Memory Controller so you always want to buy kits with (3) modules, not (2).

The Hard Drives are really a matter of Choice, but you won't go wrong with Western Digital.

Instead of messing with new ram, which I don't advise, upgrade to Win 7 64-bit now instead
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

bleghhh Nividia!? get a ATI man! so much better!
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

do you feel comfortable with a raid 0 array where you could lose 2tb of data?

if you want speed, you could consider an ssd.
Newegg.com - Intel X25-M Mainstream SSDSA2MH080G2R5 2.5" 80GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 07:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

The freezing, which happens about 6/10 times, happens once the computer reaches the desktop and is used or idle for about 5-8 minutes. It completly freezes requiring a hard restart. This only happens after the computer has been off for awhile, typically overnight. Once I hard restart, all is well.

I have tried unplugging all usb, cables, etc., but it still happens. Trust me, i've done trial and error with everything. The MB is well outside of RMA, so should I try my luck with another one?

I will get the 480 (maybe sli later) standard edition. I will leave the ram. I didn't notice that it was 2 instead of 3 sticks. Thanks for pointing that out. It is good ram.

Do you know if newegg ships D0 revisions? As for an ssd, I plan on getting those instead of hdd, but not quite yet. I will upgrade to w7 eventually, but im still good with vista for now.

Will be getting the 500gb version, dont really need 1tb each. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136320
insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 08:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

The E758-A1 mobo has a Lifetime Warranty so it's never to late to RMA it. Post a HWMonitor screenshot please.

NewEgg has been shipping i7 920 D0 cpu for awhile. I don't think there are any C0 steppings left, but I could be wrong.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 08:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

Here is the screenshot you wanted.

Another question, is my current power supply still enough for the upgrade? Didn't notice that lifetime. Will I get a new or used rma?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ss1.jpg (78.6 KB, 22 views)
insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 08:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

I don't think I could spend the money on a whole new CPU just to change from C0 to D0 stepping. 750W corsair will be more than enough.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Upgrading, again...

I know, I want to o/c more than I can get my current cpu. Looking on newegg, the i7 930 is only $8 more than 920. Looks like I might get that instead.

Additional question, my current cpu heatsink, is it still good or is there an 'upgraded' version I should know about?
__________________

insane84722 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from Ubuntu 9.10 to 10.4 Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 04-28-2010 02:19 PM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Help With Upgrading RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 23 10-29-2008 01:37 PM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.