Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2008, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

My current rig specs are in my signature, except I underclocked my CPU down to 3.0ghz for a daily basis because 3.0ghz is decent enough for what I do and it keeps the CPU cooler.

I digress. I am wanting to upgrade to 3GB of RAM from my current 2GB. I find I max my 2GB out quite often running a multitude of programs on top of any games I may be running. I do a lot of web design these day for my university and I have both dreamweaver and photoshop open tabbing between both too.

SKIP TO HERE IF YOU JUST WANT THE MEAT OF IT
In short, I think a boost of 1GB would be beneficial and I don't have the means to upgrade (nor desire) to go to 64bit yet. So, I currently have this RAM:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
and, because I want to keep dual-channel, I plan to get a 2x512mb kit. So far, I'm looking at:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Are there any issues that I might be overlooking with picking that RAM to give me 3GB and keep my moderate overclock up? Any other suggestions that would preform better for a bit more or less money?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

I personally just moved from 2GB to 4GB of RAM (even though im only running 32bit OS) and have seen a marked improvement in performance in XP.

My OS see's about 3.25 of the RAM in total which is pretty good, and the extra RAM is there if I want to move to 64bit OS some day.

As RAM is cheap now day's I would look at getting 2x1GB sticks or 2x2GB sticks. Be advised that running 4 sticks of RAM compared to 2 sticks limits your overclocking of the RAM. I had to set my RAM overclock to default when i went to 4 sticks as it wouldn't run
__________________

__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Yeah, but the 2x512mb sticks is $23 whereas 2x1GB sticks is $99 (for the type I have).
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

argh that sucks. Oh well you should still see a good improvement with the 3GB.
__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Your combining RAM that runs at different voltage and timings, your HZ's would loosen its timing to run at 5-5-5-15 instead of 4-4-4-12. This is what you should do, sell your 2GB kit to someone for approximately $50 (they are still good because of their amazing overclocking ability, mine was 4-4-4-12 @ DDR2-1000 2.1V), and buy a 4GB set (they are like 50-75 dollars on newegg)
__________________
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Looks like these are the most popular 2x2GB set:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Look good or is there a better 4GB kit for OC that I don't know about?

(I built this rig about a year ago and have been out of the know for a while)
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnelson07 View Post
Looks like these are the most popular 2x2GB set:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Look good or is there a better 4GB kit for OC that I don't know about?

(I built this rig about a year ago and have been out of the know for a while)
I'm also in your same situation ( look at my specs ) and the ram you mentioned has 5-5-5-12 timings which isnt impressive at all for ddr800 but it is running at low voltage so I dunno

personally ill prob just get the corsair XMS2 or OCZ 4 gig kits for $40 and just put my G.skill 2 gigs on reserve
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Ok, I'm planning on doing that. My birthday is Saturday and my gf wants to buy the 4gb ram for me... so I need help on finding a good kit. I'm still looking at:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Any other suggestions?
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

This is what a lot of people recommended to me.
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 04:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit)

yes those PI's are great, im pretty sure the pi series is just the pq's memory chips with the new cooler, which works quite well imo. a pq set of ram would be good if u want to stay cheap.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4265 03-29-2018 11:06 AM
$649.99 ... Quad Core, Blue Ray Player, 1TB, 3GB Ram... smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-26-2008 10:57 AM
32bit Windows: more than 2Gb mem Andyf Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2008 12:45 PM
2gb vs 4gb of ram wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-08-2008 10:12 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.