Upgrading 2 y/o PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 07:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

I would invest in a newer power supply. Why? Because you need the amperage and watt and reliability to run a higher end video card.

The 1950 should be fine for your purposes as it isn't going to burn your wallet. However, the 8800GTS 320MB is a good card for $299, and the card is also DX10 compatible. It should be able to run high demanding games on max with no problem.

You should consider upgrading your RAM as from experience, 2GB is a lot better than 1GB.
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 08:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

Upgrade 1:
EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply - Retail
Total: $350

Upgrade 2:
OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Toledo 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM
Total: $227

If I were to divide this into two separate upgrades, one now and one later, wouldn't the first give me greater gains in gaming performance?
__________________

thegreenguy is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 08:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

Not really. The CPU and RAM would be a fairly big bottleneck on the GFX, locking in all of its true power. I would go with option 2.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 09:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Not really. The CPU and RAM would be a fairly big bottleneck on the GFX, locking in all of its true power. I would go with option 2.
i agree... unless u get a real... real.. good overclock out of ur current card, u'll bottleneck ur 8800gts 320mb, also get an opteron 165 instead
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 09:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

Alright, well the card and the psu obviously have to come together, so what if I were to get those and choose between the opteron 165 and adding another gig of ram?

I'll take another guess and say that the processor upgrade will be more cost effective...

Am I wrong again? :freak:
thegreenguy is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

If you get an 8800 with the 3200+, the CPU will bottleneck the card, you will want to get a faster CPU and a faster GPU if you are going to upgrade.
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 04:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading 2 y/o PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegreenguy View Post
Alright, well the card and the psu obviously have to come together, so what if I were to get those and choose between the opteron 165 and adding another gig of ram?

I'll take another guess and say that the processor upgrade will be more cost effective...

Am I wrong again? :freak:
buy more RAM later.. get a huge upgrade now.. and make some extra cash and upgrade later... to these killer overclocking ram:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading My PC adamr100 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-13-2007 03:09 PM
Advise With Upgrading Parts Rowan_7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-30-2007 06:05 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions lazer_viking New Systems | Building and Buying 23 05-05-2007 07:39 AM
Upgrading parts Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-02-2007 08:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.