Upgrading - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2007, 11:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgrading

id rather not upgrade my whole system becuase i dont have the money, thanks for the GPU advice though
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 11:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading

get a Opteron 165 to hold you up for a while... then overclock.. .or just get the GPU upgrade....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 12:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading

with an extra £20 you can get these:
AGP:
dabs.com - Dabs Value ATI Radeon X1950Pro 512MB AGP DVI (13371)

Pci-express:
Sapphire X1950Pro 256MB GDDR3 DVI TVO HDCP PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 12:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgrading

i think i may consider the X1950 might have to be an early christmas pressie tho
Nick is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Upgrading

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
i think i may consider the X1950 might have to be an early christmas pressie tho
yeah...get the opty 165...great overclocker.

I would give you an acfp 64 or 7 for free...but i guess you already got a zalman.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgrading

yeah a zalman CPNS9500
Nick is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 02:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Upgrading

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
yeah a zalman CPNS9500
alright...
so are you gonna go for gpu,cpu, or both?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 02:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Upgrading

the x1950pro will be a big improvement over your current card, and vernon, isnt the 3800 similar to the 3600? dont they both max at about 2.8 with his zalmon9500
:edit: nvm missed the opty post
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 02:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgrading

im getting a new GPU as my CPU isnt that bad for games at the moment, just slightly slower loading times, ill prob be getting a opty 165/170 in the near future but i need a new lob-wedge
Nick is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 02:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Upgrading

you could get this 7600GT for £64 Point Of View 7600GT 256mb DDR3 DVI HDTV TV Out PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Compatibility AP4LIFETN New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-16-2007 11:26 PM
Upgrading My PC adamr100 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-13-2007 03:09 PM
Help Upgrading Old PC techsquad New Systems | Building and Buying 30 05-16-2007 11:02 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.