Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 11:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default

You have to enter your bios and change your boot options. Most of the time it is either the "delete of F2" button to get in. Should say at the boot screen. Once you do that change the first boot device to CD and then change the secondary one to Hard Drive. Save these changes and reboot. It should ask if you want to boot from CD and from there it is a piece of cake.

Install Windows XP Pro

Step seven is where it shows how to reformat and clear the partition and such.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

my advice is to create 2 partitions...
i made my c partition 50gb and it holds only the OS and updates and such
my e partition is the remainer of the same 160 hdd, it holds all my miscellaneous stuff (drivers, music, pictures and such). my games are housed on a second seperate hdd.
in any event, with 2 partitions like i said above, if you have to reformat because your OS gets corrupted by a virus or bad overclock or just screwed up you dont have to erase all your data. just the OS partition. you will have to reinstall drivers, but if you have good disc management, they will be all together and that is easy easy...easier than finding all the discs/downloading them would be. it has made my life MUCH easier on several occasions. just my suggestion.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
You have to enter your bios and change your boot options. Most of the time it is either the "delete of F2" button to get in. Should say at the boot screen. Once you do that change the first boot device to CD and then change the secondary one to Hard Drive. Save these changes and reboot. It should ask if you want to boot from CD and from there it is a piece of cake.
These problems seem never-ending. I went into BIOS-advanded setup. First boot device is CD-dvd, second my hardrive. Nothing changed but after a few attempts hoping it will randomly work the first screen on my monitor is now my motherboard. It allows me to change by boost options with F11. The problem with that is that the only options are my hardrive and floppy. No CD-DVD. I'm now just thinking about going to wal-mart/circuit city and buying an overpriced SATA dive.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

I'm surprised you got an ATX board into a dell case

So when you boot from the CD it dosn't actually boot? I suggest trying an old drive if you have one, an old IDE CD drive will do fine. It's worth looking at the possibilities before spending money.
Nick is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

just a silly question, Is this the XP disk that came with the dell or is it a windows OEM or retail XP disk. If it came with a PC it won't work on any othe MB than the one it came with.

Dauntae
Dauntae is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

^^Yep Yep. I will have to agree, I made this mistake when I was a youngster.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 11:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
just a silly question, Is this the XP disk that came with the dell or is it a windows OEM or retail XP disk. If it came with a PC it won't work on any othe MB than the one it came with.

Dauntae
Helo,

The disk that came with the Dell is a OEM one and tailored for the Dell system. It wont install cause it doesnt work with SATA drives. Not to mention that you have to buy a new copy of Windows cause you cant use the one from your Dell. That violates the Windows EULA.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 01:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

hooray for anti-piracy!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
hooray for anti-piracy!
Man i hope that is sarcastic.


Anyways just keep going at it. Computers are so much trial and error.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

lol hickfarm i just love that anti-piracy! laws and agreements and contracts! yeehaw!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Upgraded RAM to 2GB on Dell Demension 3000 but....... hesson81 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-01-2008 10:23 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.