Is the upgrade worth the money? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2006, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default Is the upgrade worth the money?

Im going to be building a Core 2 Duo Rig and am wondering if there is a noticeable difference between the E6400 and 6600? i know there is the extra 2mb cache, but is it really that much of a difference?
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya I am sure it is, I would go with the e6600 if you have the money.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

In coding, encrypting, and applications its noticable. As for Gaming the increase is very minimal. If you have the money go for the E6600 since its nice, if not i suggest a E6300 since it and the E6400 are practicly exactly the same thing, only the 6400 starting stock at higher speeds. With minimal overclocking it would be just as fast as the 6400 if you wanted. It just cant reach as high of a max OC as the 6400, but unless you intend on trying to go crazy mad with it its the same thing for $40 bucks cheaper.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
In coding, encrypting, and applications its noticable. As for Gaming the increase is very minimal. If you have the money go for the E6600 since its nice, if not i suggest a E6300 since it and the E6400 are practicly exactly the same thing, only the 6400 starting stock at higher speeds. With minimal overclocking it would be just as fast as the 6400 if you wanted. It just cant reach as high of a max OC as the 6400, but unless you intend on trying to go crazy mad with it its the same thing for $40 bucks cheaper.
yep you said it it. the only 2 core 2 duos that i would get is teh e6300 or the e6600. i would get the 6300 because of the low price and you can oc it to pretty high speeds. and i would get the 6600 because of the extra cache.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

64000 cache is where the processor stores valuable info about to be processed the more the better
TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.