Upgrade wishlist.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 11:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Upgrade wishlist....

I think you have to have pairs to support dual channel. Like 2 1gb sticks for 2gb and 2 2gb sticks for 4 gb... or dual dual channel using 4 1gb sticks.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Upgrade wishlist....

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
I think you have to have pairs to support dual channel. Like 2 1gb sticks for 2gb and 2 2gb sticks for 4 gb... or dual dual channel using 4 1gb sticks.
I think its as long as two of them are the same/pairs

Like this......

Right now I have four slots, lets call it Slots 1, 2, 3, & 4.

Both my G.Skill 1GB RAM are on Slot 1 and Slot 3

Both are the same so I can run dual channel on it. So Slot 2 and Slot 4 are empty.

But if I decide to add more ram onto my system and take advantage of the Dual Channel on all four them, I dont think I necessarily have to have the same ram for all four slots. So I can have.....

Slot 1: G.Skill HZ 1GB 4-4-4-12
Slot 2: G.Skill 2GB 5-5-5-15
Slot 3: G.Skill HZ 1GB 4-4-4-12
Slot 4: G.Skill 2GB 5-5-5-15

But my RAM will be running at the slowest speeds, since all four of them are PC2-6400, they will be running at 6.4Gb/s at stock but timing will be 5-5-5-15 if not overclocked.

Even though I can run 1000MHz with a 5-5-5-15 on my HZ RAM, but say I cant run 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 on the new 2GB RAM, I wont be able to run them at 1000MHz 5-5-5-15. So if the 2GB RAM can run at 1000MHz with a timing of say 6-6-6-18, then thats the best thing I can get it at, is run all four of them at 1000MHz with timing 6-6-6-18. Or just run them at 800MHz with a 5-5-5-12 timing, if possible 4-4-4-12 depending on the 2GB RAM.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Upgrade wishlist....

yeah you should try to match all RAM in the computer if at all possible for best results. im pretty sure all sticks run at the same mhz and timings, so you wouldn't want to get any ram that was slower than your current hz's. and im almost absolutely sure you will not see any benefit out of 6gb compared to 4gb unless you do CAD or anything of that nature.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Upgrade wishlist....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
yeah you should try to match all RAM in the computer if at all possible for best results. im pretty sure all sticks run at the same mhz and timings, so you wouldn't want to get any ram that was slower than your current hz's. and im almost absolutely sure you will not see any benefit out of 6gb compared to 4gb unless you do CAD or anything of that nature.
Okay, thanks for the advice. I was just kind of wondering because the fact that you can get twice as much memory for less than $40.00 more.

I bought my HZ's when it only cost $114.00

I cant believe newegg raised the price on it, but then again, I cant blame them. Grrr stupid Supply and Demand.

Edit: And oh, on other subject, I dont hear any hisses or anything like that while listening to music with my Quad Processor. Maybe one of the processor is dedicated to do the sound

Love it! When I had my E6600, I could hear a static sound when the computer is doing some major work load, but with this Quad, I hear crisp and the best quality sound with my onboard sound
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
got 150$. want to upgrade. cant decide....help siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-07-2007 12:45 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.