Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2007, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

guys, a friend of mine is running a
8800gts
e6600
2gb ddr3 800mhz
raid drives
and hes over clocked his cpu and 500 watts is more then enough for him like he doesn't need 660watts bu what ever you say, if he was in sli i would recomend that much but not for what he has.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by bricro View Post
stop being a troll dude. honestly why start at the bottom and work up, either way someday it will be needed, the 7k series were really hot. and than the 8k series run even hotter, so I'm sure down the line cooling systems will be needed. and as far as the PSU, yea 660 watts is needed to keep running everything the 8k series need alot of power. sorry to bust your bubble but that 660 watts will run that computer for a while. no offense.
umm learn the meaning of a troll, because hes not acting like one at all, he is just making suggestions

if your light on money get this...
Newegg.com - XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 115/ 230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
will power your system just fine even with the upgrades

you dont need that 600 watt kingwin, which i wouldnt buy because kingwin are not known for there PSU and you can get a better one for cheaper like the one i suggested
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
guys, a friend of mine is running a
8800gts
e6600
2gb ddr3 800mhz
raid drives
and hes over clocked his cpu and 500 watts is more then enough for him like he doesn't need 660watts bu what ever you say, if he was in sli i would recomend that much but not for what he has.
ya.. but he probably had a good quality one.. or one of those Mid-Range Xclio's or Rosewills
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 11:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

no actually it came with his case.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 12:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
no actually it came with his case.
one of the lucky ones....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 12:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
one of the lucky ones....
\

I ran a full system with a 7300gt and everything for almost 2 years on a cruddy 400w codegen psu, it still works too.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 01:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Upgrade what I have or start from scratch? $800 budget w/monitor

All we are saying....stock psus will not handle what this kid wants to do and overclocking...its ok...im going with him this week to get a new modular psu. Trust me...he does need it. And having more power is always beter then not having enough, this way later on if he upgrades he wont have to buy a new psu. Think ahead
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$800 dollar budget, friend is making his own computer Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-22-2007 05:48 PM
To upgrade or start over sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-28-2007 08:22 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.