Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 06:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

Mmm, yeah it's unfortunate. But I'd rather have a solid working system then one that might give me some crap. I'm a noob so I don't know how to deal with stuff when it doesn't want to work.

I'm not really a techie so I don't mind being behind the front lines. Just need it to work and do the job.
__________________

SimonC is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 06:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

never pay same price for something that offers less performance you will regret this.

but on the bright side u just got new system be happy.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

oh well....still a great cpu
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonC View Post
Yeah the e8400 and 8500 are available from auspcmarket.com.au .. only in the past couple days.

I ended up going back to my original choice of the E6750 because of the unknowns and probable lack of bios compatibility with the new 45nm chips. It was just a bit risky, but I'm not too worried with the performance drop, I wasn't planning on overclocking or anything anyway.

It'll do.
that wasn't a good move because all of the P35 chipsets supported Wolfdale processors, and you could overclock them better than the e6750
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

So you all reckon the 45nm chip would have gone into the motherboard with no problems?

Oh well. The price you pay for ignorance and lack of confidence.

I hate buying computer stuff

I should have left it a few more days before ordering. Oh well... Done is done! - I suppose . . .
SimonC is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

e6750 is still a great CPU tho.. I really wanted to see an e8400 in action tho
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 08:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

glad to know the e6750 is still ok.

I wouldn't know what the **** to do with the e8400 anyway to be honest. It'd probably just sit in my box running at it's normal clock speed :P and that would be a bit sacrilegious.
SimonC is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 11:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

SimonC I have that same MOBO and is suppose to support the E8400 out of the box without a BIOS update or something anyway I too own the E6750 and later in the future if you want more performance out of that CPU you can still overclock it without problem to 3.0GHz or more..

Note: My MOBO is version 1.0 but still is basically same..
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phanto View Post
SimonC I have that same MOBO and is suppose to support the E8400 out of the box without a BIOS update or something anyway I too own the E6750 and later in the future if you want more performance out of that CPU you can still overclock it without problem to 3.0GHz or more..

Note: My MOBO is version 1.0 but still is basically same..
I got mine to a little over 3.5GHz on air. Sits nicely at 20-25 idle.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 01-10-2008, 04:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help

Seriously go kill yourself now........... j/k
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
AM2 vs Core2 duo Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-01-2007 03:40 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.