upgrade too am2 is it worth it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2007, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default upgrade too am2 is it worth it

hi guys im considering selling my gear and going to am2,i will be selling my motherboard cpu and ram,(look at sig for details)
just wondering if its worth me going to am2 and if ill see a noticeble difference in speed,

this is what im thinking of getting

cpu
Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

motherboard
Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

ram
Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

was only thinking of upgrading because of the move to ddr2
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

wait 5 months if your rig doesn't desperately need upgrading then you can buy an am2+ motherboard and a k10 series am2+ processor maybe some ddr3 if you have some cash left....
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

well i was only considering this as after looking on ebay ive noticed the cpu a ram i have is selling for more now than i paid 6 months ago so may even have some change left over,if i wait i may not get as good a price for them
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

i would say go for it now. if u wait there will be new stuff to wait for
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

with that processor and the DDR2 ram you should see a pretty nice improvement, the 6000x2 performs the same as a E6600 core 2 duo, so it must be good.
And since you will have an AM2 board you can easily upgrade to the newer AMD processors that are coming out soon.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

i havent heard great things bout the xms but if thats all that avialible then should be ok guess. if ur o/c gskill is the best
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlr View Post
well i was only considering this as after looking on ebay ive noticed the cpu a ram i have is selling for more now than i paid 6 months ago so may even have some change left over,if i wait i may not get as good a price for them
well sell it then!!!! lol I thought you were just casually thinking of upgrading just for the sake of it........ but just to mention am2+ boards are suppose to start appearing next month ( I know in the world of tech there isn't any point waiting as each week something new and better is released but surely not when theyre so close. I would sell now then go 2-3 weeks with an old machine and then buy an am2+ board with a 4200x2 a nice cooler and the g-skill ram so that when it comes to k10 time you only need a new cpu...
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 10:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: upgrade too am2 is it worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i havent heard great things bout the xms but if thats all that avialible then should be ok guess. if ur o/c gskill is the best
i can overclock my xms just as well as gskill (ie 4-3-3-5 @ 500+mhz). it just takes a little more patience and adjustment. which can be a PITA for some folks. will probably get gskill when i buy new ram, just cos i hear that the hks are monster overclockers and i'd like to see for myself. but xms are good ram, especially for how much they cost now.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
GPU, upgrade now or wait? TheDiceman New Systems | Building and Buying 21 05-04-2007 05:49 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.