Which Upgrade Should I Choose? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 09:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Again you do not listen to me. There is no clarity improvement, but the EAX sounds d*mn good, and it is even better with good speakers, and yes if you are using crappy speakers, then you should get speakers first, but you should AT LEAST invest in an Audigy2 ZS, which can be had for $70 on newegg! It will be a pretty big difference if you are upgrading from onboard sound or a cheapo sound card, again, not because of clearity but because of the EAX and hardware audio features. It also takes the load off the CPU.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

cost/performance ratio is nonexistant. Thanks, I'll be here all week.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
cost/performance ratio is nonexistant. Thanks, I'll be here all week.

Ryan
LOL.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Lol, I guess it's true then what I read... Hardware audio is being phased out in windows vista because of all people like you who use onboard audio that is totally free. That is one of the reasons I am not going to get Vista, along with the fact that M$ is only going to give it limited opengl support, AND it eats over 500mb of memory after a clean install with nothing else installed. Vista is going to be balls for gaming, and pretty much everything else as well, because microsoft won't be including any of the features that made it just barely worth getting. WinFX for example. If you had a decent set of stereo speakers and an Audigy2 ZS, you would have a different opinion on the subject. The problem is already null however because the starter of this thread already has an Audigy2, so at least he is informed in the area of gaming sound cards.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you're right. Your life changing letdowns are the fault of me and others similar to me. You gotta understand buddy... companies aren't here to make you happy. They're here to turn a profit. That's what the business entity is. Quit griping... sheesh.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

To answer your questions, I do own a Audigy 2 ZS already and I have a decent set of Creative 5.1 Speakers. I understand what you are saying about why i should go for more RAM but at the end of the day I can play all games on high settings apart from BF2 which is why I wanted the Sound Card. It should help me get an extra 5+ fps which would then make it playable on high settings.

I can't really upgrade any other part of my machine without changing over to skt 939 and PCI Express as I have pretty much maxed the CPU and Graphics card out. I know i can get the likes of a 6800Ultra or X8050 (If thats the one) but to do thsi would cost nearly the same I can get a 7800GT for.

Quote:
Otherwise for improving game loading times look at getting one or 2 of these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822144160
Yes I did look into buying a pair of Raptors as they seem to be the leading Hard Drives atm but as I don't really understand SATA I am unsure in what the do or dont do.
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Raptor drives will only improve loading/saving times.
what you want is more gaming performance.

an X-Fi will help in BF2, but yes, it is pretty darn expensive for the performance gain.
but then again, it's not your money.

although I think having 2GB RAM will give you a better performance gain than the X-Fi, although the X-Fi gives you better sound. but yes it is expensive to get the sound difference
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

I can pick up a Fatal1ty for £135 ($233) whereas the RAM will set me back £188 (£325). Although the money isnt really an option as long as its less than £200 I still want teh best bang for my buck if you know what i mean.

Though you lot have give very good reasons on which upgrade I should pick, I think this is gonna be down to me as you all have very valid reasons but on different things. But on one note, you say that the raptors will improve boot/loading times. does this mean that it would load the textures better in BF2 or would that be a graphics card or RAM job?
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 05:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

most of your loading is done before you start playing the game. it doesn't usually load things as you go through, with the exception of maybe Half-Life 1 and 2, but that is only at certain periods.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Well I think I have made my choice, gonna go for the RAM upgrade as it seems the best in means of performance and value, etc.

Here are the links to the two different brands of memory I've picked. Out of the two which one should I pick?

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=98303

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=66376
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.