upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2008, 02:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

Ya. 2nd one. So far this one has good temps so it might last a while.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 03:20 PM   #22 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fayt19 View Post
Check your memory because im pretty sure the memory you have now wont be compatible with the motherboard your going to get.
its DDR2 compatible which is what i have, not DDR3 which is what im sure you were thinking... thanks for the concern tho

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
good choices
thank you much, i rather think so too

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
its g0 revision... not stepping
are you suuuuure? i thought it was like... the G92 (like on video card chips) was a revision, and that G0 was a stepping? mebbe one of us is mixed up... i dunno :*

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Essentially the q6600 and q6700 are the exact same chips. One was able to clock with a 10x multi when they were binning them and got stamped 6700. You will mostly end up with the exact same overclocks with either chip.
well, the Q6700 is going to drop from the current $527 MSRP to $270... and the Q6600 will drop from $270 to $229... so pretty much, by waiting like two weeks... i can get a higher stock clock speed and multiplier... for the exact same price as the Q6600 was... so while the difference is small... its still there... and by waiting, mebbe i can squeeze just a liiitle bit more outta a Q6700 and get a better build for the same price...

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Asus = old and busted. Evga = the new hotness.
now i certainly dont know about that...

my understanding is that both the EVGA 680/750/780i or w/e family and pretty much most other X38/X48 motherboards, like ASUS's... both overclock exceptionally well... just that the EVGA/XFX boards' chipset is better for if youre going to be running SLI (which im prolly not: a GX2 later, instead) and Asus's X38s are better if youre going to run a single card and OC...

i still think ill go with my Asus board tho...

and also gentlemen, not to be rude but, if youre going to talk/argue about motherboards, may i suggest you start a new thread in the computer hardware sub-forum? id like to keep this thread about helping out with my upgrade... thanks - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 03:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

I just dont care for asus customer service. I have read entirely too many horror stories of people trying to RMA stuff to them. And i know how well EVGA treats their customers.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

No I'm right

(calling out Ste)

If you take any Q6600 G0, and look on it's CPU-Z, look where it says G0, its under revision, not stepping

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 08:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

okay, so i was thinking about the terrible mess that my case is now, and what i can do to improve this in my new one, and also, i had a little extra money, SO... im thinking about adding one of these to my new build:

Ultra X3 ULT40064 1000-Watt Power Supply (with Corsair TWINX 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 Memory DEAL)

it comes with 4GB of free RAM, too... which i can either use (tho im pretty sure my G.Skill HZ's are much better), or sell to make up some of the money i spent...

and also, with more power available, i was thinking about getting myself a new 9800GTX possibly soon... since theyre only $300...
only thing is... they have an X3 model available in 600W... kind of like the one i have now, but modular, which is KEY... i really, really want a modular PSU to cut down on case clutter... but do you think that 600W would be enough to run my quad-core and a 9800GTX? im not so sure, hence the 1000W... any opinions?
should i get the 9800GTX?
or should i save the $300 and use it towards liquid-cooling my CPU sooner?
and should i go for a 1000W or the 600W X3?
thanks - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 08:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

show me a link to the 600 x3 PSU

because amperage on the 12v Rails matter way more than watts do, because some of the lower end companies like use High Wattage that has high 3.3/5 V rail amperage as opposed to 12v rails
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

here ya go, vernong... sry bout that:

Ultra X3 600-Watt Power Supply

and to be honest, i dont know much about 12v rails and such :* - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

36 amps... not bad... and on one single rail... its good

but I think the PC Power and Cooling 610 is cheaper on the egg'
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:19 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

Ya man 750i ftw is the way to go for sli (unless you want x3 sli).
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:19 PM   #30 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: upgrade questions? rampage formula? Q6600?

or there is my strider Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE SST-ST60F ATX 12V 2.01 & EPS 12V 600W Power Supply 115 - 240V - Power Supplies
has like 70 amps in total.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Computer Upgrade Ideas and Questions AP4LIFETN New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-05-2008 02:54 PM
ASUS Rampage Formula on sale? stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 03-24-2008 01:35 PM
Selling everything: 8800 Ultra, Acer 24", Q6600, Maximus Formula, etc... mgcook Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 18 03-17-2008 11:15 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.