Upgrade Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Upgrade Question

I want to upgrade my video card to play the new games that are out. My Mother Bored supports AGP video cards. So my question is do i upgrade Mother Bored and video card for PCI-E access or just upgrade to a better AGP video card and keep my current Mother Bored.
__________________

FOOLIN' is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

if you upgrade to pcie you will need a new processor most likely. but pci-e is better
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

My proccesser is an intel pentium 4 3.0ghz do i need to get a new proccesser if i get a new mobo?
FOOLIN' is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

you should be fine with just buying a new mobo with the same socket size
paintballdemon is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

depending on how old, it may possibly be 478 and i dont know if they make pci e for skt 478, i was looking for one but it is a 775 then no problem getting a new mobo.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by æArchOAngelæ
depending on how old, it may possibly be 478 and i dont know if they make pci e for skt 478, i was looking for one but it is a 775 then no problem getting a new mobo.
and then in addition, remember than in AGP the best card you can get is the 6800 series.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.