upgrade PSU for xfire setup - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2010, 11:23 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

Yes it is
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 05:27 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 85
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

is it okay not to get a modular PSU? coz i found Corsair 950W though its not modular but the price range is reachable am using HAF 932 full tower case.
__________________

corei5 is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

After owning my cards for only couple weeks, I am already thinking about the 480s.
So im debating whether or not to take the plunge and sell both my XFX 5870 XXX-editions on ebay
__________________
EVGA E760 Classified BIOS S664
i7-930 @ 4.2ghz
Watercooled
6GB Mushkin Redline 998750 @2010mhz 8-8-7 24
EVGA GTX 480 SLI
Antec TPQ-1200w
Triple Vertex-2 Raid 0 FW1.1 / 640 WD Blacks Raid 0
750 WD Black
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
Blu-ray
Astro Gaming A40 system
HAF932
Win7 x64
eagle5968 is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:05 PM   #24 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle5968 View Post
After owning my cards for only couple weeks, I am already thinking about the 480s.
So im debating whether or not to take the plunge and sell both my XFX 5870 XXX-editions on ebay
this guy has been bitten by the bug.

on another note, good luck trying find the 480s in stock
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

I wouldn't bother.....I'd wait for the NVIDIA and ATI refreshes.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

If you want them go for it, I hear you. Plus SLi scaling is proving to be rewarding with the 480's. Never know when refreshes for nVidia are coming, but ATi's are just around the corner. If you had the best chance at getting the most money for your cards it would be now. But like others have said...getting Fermi is very difficult right now. The yields on those things is horrible...it would take some time and constant camping on various websites to get your hands on one.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Default Re: upgrade PSU for xfire setup

i still got original packaging and everything bought first one 3 weeks ago and the 2nd one last week
hey coreI5, why don't u pick up mine?
i got 2x XFX 5870 XXX-editions
and got a Corsair 750w PSU
__________________

__________________
EVGA E760 Classified BIOS S664
i7-930 @ 4.2ghz
Watercooled
6GB Mushkin Redline 998750 @2010mhz 8-8-7 24
EVGA GTX 480 SLI
Antec TPQ-1200w
Triple Vertex-2 Raid 0 FW1.1 / 640 WD Blacks Raid 0
750 WD Black
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
Blu-ray
Astro Gaming A40 system
HAF932
Win7 x64
eagle5968 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having major OS Dilemma & free upgrade win7 coupon rocknje Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-18-2009 02:27 PM
Will this PSU work? 1mike System Upgrades 17 07-10-2009 05:56 PM
Microsoft Sets Windows 7 Pricing, Upgrade Programs Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 58 07-10-2009 11:04 AM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.