Upgrade Processor? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2009, 02:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Tone down that PSU there buddy. To be on the safe side with dual 295s, I would get a 1000w and save a couple hundred bucks, but I'm telling you, don't get dual 295s. There's no point unless you benchmark for a living, and the amount of heat in there will be ridiculous. If you're only going to get one, grab at the very least, a 750w. Maybe the 850w corsair at the very most.

I wouldn't get the sound card, you won't really need it right away...if you MUST get one, grab it later.

And grab a seagate 1.5tb, same cost, runs great. I have one, no problems so far.

If you're really going "all out", you might as well get a water cooling setup for the CPU and possibly the 295 (they get REALLY hot). I'll let aspire tell you more about that, I'm not the one to talk to about setting those up from scratch. But that way you could dump the air cooler, and put some of the money you save on a psu/soundcard/cooler towards a nice WC rig.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Thanks for the advice... I trimmed off the fat, $1000 worth in fact.. How does that look?
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Looks like a nice setup...my only criticisms are the PSU still, unless you are seriously thinking about grabbing a second 295 somewhere down the line...and the air cooler. With the 295, you may want to look into a WC setup, like I mentioned. Would be well worth it.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

your not going to reuse parts from your current build? that would shave costs alot more. then you would only have to get a new cpu, mobo and ram
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
your not going to reuse parts from your current build? that would shave costs alot more. then you would only have to get a new cpu, mobo and ram
Yeah, I've realized that.. That is what I'm going to do... I've scaled it back even more to only the mobo, cpu, and memory.. Still is like $700+ though.. Better than close to $2000...



Will my current PSU be able to run the 295 with a 9600GT for dedicated physics????
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Are you talking about running a 295 and 9600gt in SLI? It can't happen, that's impossible. But your 750tx can easily run a 295.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shan1784 View Post



Will my current PSU be able to run the 295 with a 9600GT for dedicated physics????
it should be able to.

im an evga fan, but at this point i would grab that biostar board over the evga board. its a better overclocker.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
Are you talking about running a 295 and 9600gt in SLI? It can't happen, that's impossible. But your 750tx can easily run a 295.
Not really sli, it's using the secondary card for dedicated physx processing and using bot gpu's in my 295 to process graphics...

Here is a write up in the EVGA forums...

I know it doesn't add that much and there are few games out to support that but I was just curious about trying it out... I can get a 9600gt for pennies on Craigs List...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Ah, sorry about that, didn't know you could do that. That's pretty cool, but yea, your psu will have plenty of power for it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Upgrade Processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
Ah, sorry about that, didn't know you could do that. That's pretty cool, but yea, your psu will have plenty of power for it.
Good to know... Thanks for all your help...
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Processor and graphics question, for buying laptop? Joecoolwashere Laptops and Notebooks 8 02-10-2009 02:07 PM
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Sony quietly upgrades PSP processor Harper Sony Playstation 0 06-26-2007 08:47 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.