Is An Upgrade Possible? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2010, 08:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is An Upgrade Possible?

Will that still be safe with my current power supply?

EDIT - Stupid question, one of the reviewers clearly answered my question.

I am more of a NVIDIA fan, but as far as more for less goes, i'm all for it.

What about PCI Express 2.1? I know PCI Express 2 will work in original but what's the diff with 2.1?
__________________

RickJ4mes is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Is An Upgrade Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickJ4mes View Post
Will that still be safe with my current power supply?

EDIT - Stupid question, one of the reviewers clearly answered my question.

I am more of a NVIDIA fan, but as far as more for less goes, i'm all for it.

What about PCI Express 2.1? I know PCI Express 2 will work in original but what's the diff with 2.1?
PCI Express 2.1 will work fine as well, it's just a minor update to 2.0

The HD 5670 does use a little more power than the GT 240 but it shouldn't make much of a difference one way or the other.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is An Upgrade Possible?

My build right now doesn't even have a HDMI or DVI port while my monitor only has a HDMI port (along with a VGA of course.) Now when i add this card, i'll have all three ports available correct?

BTW - This is my first time actually opening up a PC and modifying it inside, so don't mind my stupid questions :P I just planned on looking at a quick tutorial to make sure i don't miss anything when putting it in. Although from what i understand with the 5670 it's pretty much plug in, install drivers & play
RickJ4mes is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 10:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Is An Upgrade Possible?

The HD 5670 has 1x DVI, Ix HDMI, and 1x DisplayPort and you will be able to use any or all of those ports for monitors. You can't use any of the ports that are on your current card though.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 12:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is An Upgrade Possible?

I concur with PuddleJumper. Given your criteria of 'average games and low settings with decent fps', the HIS 1GB 5670 works very well for me. I had the same criteria when upgrading my system (similar HP, 4 years old) . I picked this card up last week. This card was cheap ($105 @ CompUSA, after rebates) and very quiet. Also saves me from having to upgrade my power supply since it needs no additional power connections. After installing, now my only bottleneck is my CPU (Athlon 3800). Since you already have a Phenom quad-core, you should be in pretty good shape.
__________________

Didger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Windows 7 worth the upgrade from Vista? pinoy3000 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 08-04-2010 06:53 PM
Giveaway of the Day - System Upgrade Utilities 2010 (English Version) Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-21-2010 08:15 AM
Pc upgrade advice ttoadish System Upgrades 6 03-22-2008 02:47 PM
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.