upgrade or new build openion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2009, 02:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

gt7sanremo mentioned that the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz don't over clock as well as the old ones, what about the Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz?is it worth the extra $80?
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

It is definitely worth the extra $$. q6600s are old and they aren't as good as the used to be. the q9550 is one of the best CPUs out and it will overclock nicely if you want it to.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

thanks for the help...
now is that gain with little quad support would actually be useful. i mean many of the software and even games that is already out don't benefit from quad, is there a change within this year or are we looking at 2 or more years because if that's was the case then going with the Q9** wouldn't be beneficial ?
zenyora is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 02:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

I would say its worth it. Unless you really really are stretching for a q9550, I think it will be better to have down the road. If you want to cut down though, I can't say anything bad about an e8500 except that if you're doing a bunch things in the background, you will see it slow down.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 02:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

well i honestly do mostly 3D work on my machine, so usually i would have 4 or more applications running at the same time(now for example: i have maya, photoshop,windows media player,zbrush and firefox.
and as much i would like to have an i7 (based on 3d benchmarks) i cant afford it at this point and from the looks of it i wont be able my this new build anyway. so if i can save and get something decent while i wait for prices that would be best.

btw would a 550 power supply do the job or am i going to have to go with 750?
zenyora is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

What are the specs on the rest of the system?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 09:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
What are the specs on the rest of the system?
on which one?
zenyora is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

Oh nevermind, I saw the rest of your setup. If you're going for a Q9400 or Q9550, 550w psu would power that system easily.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 12:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: upgrade or new build openion

since you're doing alot of 3D work, definitely get a q9550. all of those programs take advantage of multi-core processors so you will see a huge advantage, especially when rendering
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Milestone 3 Build 6801 Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 114 01-08-2009 12:07 AM
my computer build!!! hitmanj New Systems | Building and Buying 50 06-29-2008 12:44 PM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
To upgrade or start over sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-28-2007 08:22 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.