Upgrade Mobo+CPU need to up PowerSupply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Upgrade Mobo+CPU need to up PowerSupply?

HI there, i am upgrading my CPU Mobo and G card. this will be my setup--

Motherboard--DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD

at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152


CPU---AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor
at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

G Card--XFX Geforce 6800GS PVT42GUAD7 Video Card

athttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150118&ATT=Video+Cards&C MP=OTC-Froogle&srccode=cii_14110944&cpncode=08-3504503-2

Do i need to upgrade my Power supply? my current power supply is i know intel ready ATX power supply with 24 pin and 4-pin 12 volt plugs. ATX 12 v 2.0 compliant
__________________

EndofSanity is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If it came with your case it probably isn't enough.

Find out the wattage and amps/rails and post that information.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

power supply is --- Enermax eg465p-ve

460w
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

It might work but DFI boards say they require 480W to run stable. Many people have run lower wattages. DFI forums recommend the OCZ powerstream 520W for the best all around power supply.
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya, Like Kraut said, DFI boards need some power, Plus I would upgrade to a stronger PSU anyways for anyt future upgrades.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Okay thanks
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EndofSanity
Okay thanks
What, Not gonna ask for a reccomendation?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Sure, where should i look for one?
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

What about this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Nah, It may look cool but its crap inside, if you really want a good and Cool looking power supply youll need more then 60 bucks.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.