Upgrade For Gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2009, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Upgrade For Gaming

Hello everyone,

I always wanted a reasonable gaming rig to at least handle World Of Warcraft flawlessly and possibly Crysis-like gaming along with very light computer graphics for website building. This is what I have and hopefully providing enough information...what would you upgrade? Is $500. a reasonable budget? XD

Motherboard: Mach Speed P4MSD-800 D2

Processor: 3.33 gigahertz Intel Celeron D

Drives:
Hitachi HDT725025VLA380 (250.06GB)
36X CD-ROM
LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1P

Memory: Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000

CPU Cooling Fan: ThermalTake Golden Orb II

Monitor: Princeton Ultra 96 (17.7")

Case: Black ATX Mid-Tower (450w SATA PSU)

Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA (R) Audio Controller

I would also like to get an external drive for general computer backups, but shouldn't media files including gaming be stored on its own hdd? The following choices were recommended to me: Maxtor STM305004OTA3E5-RK OneTouch 4 Plus 500GB External Hard Drive and Seagate FreeAgent Go ST903203FGA2E1-RK 320GB External Hard Drive.

Thank you for any help and recommendations, very much appreciated!
__________________

INNOVATOR is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Would you be ok with using that $500 for a whole new rig? because you can do it, and it'd spank the ever-living-crap out of it
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

You can reuse the case and opticals, maybe the hard drive.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Total = $477 w/$30 MIRs and a lot of free shipping.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Nope, not buying a new rig. This was a gift from my Dad so it would be rather insulting to him if I ditched it. Thanks for the links Trotter. I'm taken aback by how much would have to be upgraded...
INNOVATOR is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 10:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

OK. No problem.

Here's what CPUs your mobo can handle:
  • Intel Pentium 4 Prescott
  • Intel Celeron D
  • Intel Pentium D
  • Dual Core Support

It can only handle a max of 2GB of RAM, with the maximum usable speed of 533MHz DDR2.

here's a start:
Newegg.com - Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT2KIT12864AA800 - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AG3850 512MD3 Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Finding a better CPU could be rough, though.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
OK. No problem.

Here's what CPUs your mobo can handle:
  • Intel Pentium 4 Prescott
  • Intel Celeron D
  • Intel Pentium D
  • Dual Core Support

It can only handle a max of 2GB of RAM, with the maximum usable speed of 533MHz DDR2.

here's a start:
Newegg.com - Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT2KIT12864AA800 - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AG3850 512MD3 Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Finding a better CPU could be rough, though.
Looks great Trotter.

At the OP: Just so you know, that HD 3850 is quite solid (I have the PCI-e version) and your CPU might be a heavy bottleneck mate, later on when you get more money, see if you can find a cheap deal on a Pentium D and a decent cooler, and you can OC to around 3.5-4.0ghz (if you are really lucky 4.0ghz)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by INNOVATOR View Post
Nope, not buying a new rig. This was a gift from my Dad so it would be rather insulting to him if I ditched it. Thanks for the links Trotter. I'm taken aback by how much would have to be upgraded...
I would still do what trotter originally posted. It isn't completely scrapping the rig, only upgrading most of it. As long as you still have the case, I'm betting your dad won't know the difference. He doesn't know how much you're upgrading. In this case it is everything but the case, opticals, and HDD.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Phenom II x2 7850 & Gigabyte 4850 512MB

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
OCZ Blade DDR2 4GB & WD Black 640GB Hard Drive

Newegg.com - Antec Sonata III 500 Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply - Computer Cases

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA790GXB A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

$511 w/$40 MIR
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

Ok I'm caving and going with Trotter's original suggestion...I hate parting with money lol. Anyways, I was talking to a TigerDirect representative (I'll prob. be going w/newegg) and he mentioned the first motherboard listed and I'm just wondering what the difference is between the two:

Asus M4N78 Pro GeForce 8300 Motherboard w AMD Phenom X4 9600 Quad Core Processor HD9600WCGDBOX Bundle M4N78X49600 at TigerDirect.com]Asus M4N78 Pro GeForce 8300 Motherboard w AMD Phenom X4 9600 Quad Core Processor HD9600WCGDBOX Bundle M4N78X49600 at TigerDirect.com (Asus M4N78 Pro GeForce 8300 Motherboard w/ AMD Phenom X4 9600 Quad Core Processor HD9600WCGDBOX Bundle)

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon X2 7850 Black Edition Kuma 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops AMD Athlon X2 7850 Black Edition Kuma 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core Processor
INNOVATOR is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Upgrade For Gaming

If you are talking about the Asus M4N78, it uses an Nvidia chipset. Nvidia used to be the shizzle when it came to AMD, but not anymore. AMD makes their own chipsets and they are rock solid, especially when you get into the 780 or higher.

The original Phenoms are not that great. They work and all, but they don't hold a candle to the new ones.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.