Upgrade to Dual Channel - Worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default Upgrade to Dual Channel - Worth it?

I have 1gig stick of Kingston DDR2 PC2-5300 667mhz and I was thinking about buying one more exact stick and running them in Dual Channel mode. It's going to be about $115. Would this extra stick of 1 gig running in Dual Channel make a differance in my overall computer and gaming performance? Worth the money?

On a side question - I bought an aluminum Vantec heatspreader for aesthetics more than anything. Before I put the heatspreader on, the RAM wasnt warm at all, now, when I touch the heatspreader it seems pretty hot. This makes sense since it is aluminum, but I've heard heatspreaders can actually decrease your RAM performance because it heats up your RAM, instead of cools it. Is there a way to tell if the heatspreader is doing more bad than good?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

IT IS WORTH IT. Its twice the speed. RAMsinks are useless for the most part. RAM doesn't really need much cooling.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The move to dual channel wont make much difference, but the extra ram probably will.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yo 003, wuold you mind cleaning out ur PM box, i want to send you a message, for future help.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Since you already have 1gb i wouldnt.. cause dual channel does make a big difference when you dont have a lot of ram.. but since you already have 1gb i really would jus save your money
If i had to guess it would make a good performance increase on games like BF2 and FEAR cause battlefield2 uses 1.25 gb ram at the most part.. i wouldnt do it
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

1gb is fine but if you want to go for 2gb then dual channel may help a little. i don't think the dual channel bandwidth has nearly as much a performance boost for intel cpus as AMD's because they rely so heavily on the on-die L2 cache
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that depends what programs you run on your computer. some programs take up a lot of RAM, so 2GB will give you a performance boost over 1GB, however 2GB takes longer to address than 1GB does, so smaller programs will take slightly more time to load. though you shouldn't notice the slow-down unless you have 4GB RAM, where the system can sometimes struggle with all the RAM it has.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
yo 003, wuold you mind cleaning out ur PM box, i want to send you a message, for future help.
Sure, didn't realize it was full. I emptied it now.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default

As for heatspreaders, could they cause harm to the RAM if it gets too hot? I dont really need it and the RAM is a lot hotter than it used to be, now that I have the spreader.
__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k thanx 003.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.