UPGRADE BUG - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2011, 07:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: UPGRADE BUG

The P8P67 Deluxe is $30 cheaper, the Cooler Master V6 or the Frio will save another $10, this G.Skill memory, with slightly slower latencies, is $15 cheaper
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR

Those changes will reduce your costs by $55 and the OCZ Agility 3 120GB is only $159.99 after a rebate.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 09:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: UPGRADE BUG

I think I may wait a tad longer and save a little more.

That way I can get the mobo that I posted, and if I get that I can see if the cache thing actually works with the SSD.

I really would like to get a 120 GB

I am also fine with the first set of G-Skill Ram everyone suggested.

Will the 120GB SSD handle my OS....plus all the cacheing...plus the current game I want to play....I am thinking that should be fine.

Also, man...what a great time to buy ram....some really good deals.

Should I expect a pretty easy OC to 4.5 Ghz with that cpu....board....and cooler....I am thinking that should be the case.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 11:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: UPGRADE BUG

Just to give you a little reference I currently use only 112GB of my hard drive.
I have Win XP, 2 mmorpgs (WoW/EvE), TF2, L4D, L4D2, Magic DotPW, 6 seasons of Weeds, 6 seasons of Supernatural, a handful of movies, a bunch of music, old papers from 4 years of college, tons of photos, and random junk thats just accumulated.

Granted Win7 uses more space than XP, but I think people underestimate just how much space they actually have.
If you limit yourself to Win7 and a handful of games, 120GB should be plenty of space, plus you'll have a storage drive for all the extras.

And yes, with an i7 2600k, Asus Deluxe (Z68 or P67), and Corsair H80, 4.5GHz should be no problem.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 09:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: UPGRADE BUG

Thanks....I have Windows 7 on an 80GB HD by itself now.

I was just wondering with that caching going on if I would still have enough room to put at least the current game I am playing on that drive.

Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.