Upgrade assistance needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to TheBurninator
Default Upgrade assistance needed

Hello,

I just got a new case for my pc, and while it looks fast as **** (ExtremeEngine 3T), it still can't play oblivion very well, which is the most graphic intense game I've played on this comp.

Here are the specs of the PC:
CPU- skt 754 Athlon 64 3300+ (overclocked to 2.5GHz) w/ stock cooling fan
Mobo- MSI K8N Platinum 754skt
Graphics- NVidia GeForce 6200
HDD- Maxtor 160GB
Drives- DVD-ROM/CD-RW & DVD-RW/CD-RW
RAM- 1 stick of 1GB Dual-Channel & 1 stick of Dell 256MB Single-channel
PSU- 350w

External components:
Speakers- JBL Platinum 2CH
Monitor- HP 17" CRT
Mouse- Logitech USB Laser
Keyboard- MI Internet/Media
Internet- Netgear wireless 54mb/s

I'm mainly looking for more modern setup, but there's so many different items, I thought I'd ask some people with experience with them to see what you guys would suggest.

I'm willing to upgrade anything, except the case, under a budget of $300.

Corey
__________________

TheBurninator is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Basically, you're having the same problem I'm having right now - that socket 754 processor slot. It really doesn't cut it anymore, though it did two years ago; they have stopped really producing them, and at least a 939 is your best bet. I was looking at a similar budget myself, but I had to go pretty well over...

Still though, 754 and a more decent PCI-E graphics card would work wonders, though that 350w PSU might be questionable. Get at least a decent CPU and mobo (depending on your RAM type), and a PCI-E graphics card if you can afford it.
__________________

twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to TheBurninator
Default

The ram is pc3200 DDR.

I was thinking maybe getting into the AMD AM2 or X2 Dual Core processors, but it looks bad since it's not really in my budget. I might just upgrade to a 939 PCI-E setup and get some more 1GB pc3200's. I'm really hoping to upgrade to PCI-E exclusively, since they're so much cheaper than AGP graphics cards.

Any other suggestions?

Corey
__________________
My rig:
Athlon 3300+
1GB RAM
160GB
ExtremeEngine 3T Case
2x DVD/CD drives
350w PSU
TheBurninator is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Personally I think a good graphics card or CPU is more important than your RAM at the moment, but that's just my opinion.
twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to TheBurninator
Default

True, but a combination of the three would be an explosive upgrade from my current sluggish setup.

I'm really hoping to stay with AMD, despite INTEL's current success with the Core2Duo processors... Smaller companies usually have better products anyway.
__________________
My rig:
Athlon 3300+
1GB RAM
160GB
ExtremeEngine 3T Case
2x DVD/CD drives
350w PSU
TheBurninator is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186059 $74.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103531
$88.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130056
$175.99

That would work wonders IMO for a decent price, a little over $300. That's just an opinion though, because I've been trying to find a solution for a very similar situation - crappy graphics card, 754 slot, DDR400 RAM, etc.
twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

well, the socket 754 has to go my friend.
time to put that pony out to pasture. but you have to save some more money...
i suggest going with the set-up above, with the exception of an opteron 165 instead of the 3800. it is a much better overclocker and it is also dual core.
actually i dont know if i like the mobo, it only supports ddr 400...
you may want to use some ddr2 ram. you can get a GB of corsair xms ddr2 800 for about 125.00. the opteron will be about 155.
try to up your budget a little more and you can go to am2, but then you will have to have ddr2.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 08:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

processor definatly, and if you do that you will need a new motherboard, and then a gpu. If you want good game performance get a Nvidia 7900 or similar.

If you do need more cash for what you want/what we've suggested then i recommend you save abit more rather than spend what you have and then later wish you have waited and got something "a little" better or "the next one up in the range" , you know what im saying
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^^100% agree^^^save that bread.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.