Upgrade! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2009, 04:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Exclamation Upgrade!

Ive been looking to upgrade and im stuck on cpu atm whats the difference between the two ??


Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 140W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops


AMD HDZ955FBGIBOX Phenom II x4, Black Edition 3.2Ghz,8MB Cache,125W,45nm 3.20 GHz AM3 4 x 512KB Desktop Processor Retail at ZipZoomfly
__________________

Morissette23 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: Upgrade!

The first one is slightly faster than the second. Also, as best I can tell at a glance the second has 2MB more cache.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrade!

First is the 965 Black, and the second is the 955 Black. As Yami said, the first one is faster but only by 200MHz...which the 955 can easily overclock to, while being cheaper.

The 955 does not have 2MB more cache. That was a mistake on ZZF's part.

So I would suggest the 955, and overclock it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade!

now how about for my gpu

i dont know why but i really want to run 2 sli

im looking at getting 2 4850's

or would it be more logical to just go and get the 5850/5870 ?

im trying to keep my build as cheap as possible but want the best for my money
Morissette23 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade!

It would definitely be more logical to get the 5800 series over CrossfireX HD 4850's..

Two AMD cards together is CrossfireX not SLI.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade!

so should i get a different motherboard ???

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Morissette23 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade!

That board looks solid.

I hope you have DDR3 to go with it though, because you need DDR3.

But at the price we're looking at for this stuff, you could go Core i5 or LGA 1156 Core i7.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrade!

ive always had amd/ati i dont know why i lean that why but i do

i havent upgraded in 5 years so im looking to get computer ready for l4d2 and diablo3 ( if it ever comes out )
Morissette23 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morissette23 View Post
now how about for my gpu

i dont know why but i really want to run 2 sli

im looking at getting 2 4850's

or would it be more logical to just go and get the 5850/5870 ?

im trying to keep my build as cheap as possible but want the best for my money
ya, a 5850 performs about the same as a 4850x2 so the more logical choice would be to get a 5850.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 06:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morissette23 View Post
ive always had amd/ati i dont know why i lean that why but i do

i havent upgraded in 5 years so im looking to get computer ready for l4d2 and diablo3 ( if it ever comes out )
Its your build, so choose whichever you would like to use better.

We're not going to force you to use anything you don't want to use. But the difference between those in game won't be like something you'd be able to cry over (aka, its not going to be a noticeable difference).
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
Having major OS Dilemma & free upgrade win7 coupon rocknje Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-18-2009 02:27 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.