upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 02:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default upgrade

i'm thinking of upgrading my computer (in sig) and this is what i'm thinking.

budget is an issue, so i'm gonna try to play this as smart as possible. this is what i was thinking.


trade my current cpu, athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 AND my 1gb corsair value select dual channel kit, for 2gb dual channel kit, with 2-3-2-5 timings. i would then go buy a X2 4400+.

what do you guys think?

do you think:

a) my proposed trade is plausible? do you think its fair? do you think there is someone that would be willing to trade their 2gb kit for a cpu and a 1gb kit?

b) is my proposed upgrade a good idea?

c) should i perhaps go about it differently? (instead of ram and cpu perhaps go gpu and something else.....)

any input is appreciated..

donno if this belongs in high performance or not.. but more traffic, so HP wins
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

personally i would save for the ram and cpu, install them and put the old ones aside until i could get a cheap board with onboard graphics as well as a cheap case.......then i have two nice pc's
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya i thought of that too... but i really have no need for 2 pcs right now, hehe...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

You could save about a hundred by going with a 3800+ and if you overclock I have heard it generally is a better idea since the 3800+s OC better.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.