updating my cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2010, 01:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default updating my cpu

hello, once again. here to ask you guys about updating my cpu.
im currently running a amd athlon 64 x2 4600+(am2 slot)
with a motherboard of asus m2a-vm with the bios update of 1705, ive been reading in different forums with a bios update(which i have never done) to 5001, you can run some amd quad core cpu which im looking forward to upgrading sometime before the end of the year.
the AMD Athlon II X4 635 Quad Core Processor ive read that someone was able to make it work.
ive also never installed a cpu before, and im kinda on debate wither i want to do it myself or not.
is this a good solution or are there any alternatives?

yeah, any ideas, or recommendations would be gladly appreciated.
i wouldn't mind getting a intel processor, but im not in the mood to swap put my motherboard, mainly because of the wiring involved with the led lights, reset button and what not.
__________________

The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: updating my cpu

I'd do the cpu swap... A quad core will be a nice update for multitasking.

Switching cpus is quite easy, depending on your heatsink, and for a mobo swap, the light/button plugs is the easy part..
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: updating my cpu

CPU swap is a piece of cake. Remove the heatsink, lift the retention lever and remove the CPU, drop in the new one, put down the lever, apply thermal paste, remount heatsink.

Quote:
i wouldn't mind getting a intel processor, but im not in the mood to swap put my motherboard, mainly because of the wiring involved with the led lights, reset button and what not.
Just work in reverse to put everything back in. The connectors for your front switches are labeled, BTW... just match them up with the configuration in the mobo's manual.

But why go Intel? You are always looking for the best deal, so why would you spend that kind of extra dosh?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: updating my cpu

sounds easy enough.
i might as well just do a cpu swap and a bios upgrade(any good links that show step by step.) to save me money, which i really need to do.
any recommendations in cpu that could work with my asus m2a vm.
as mention before quad core, would it really matter on how much ghz it runs at? looking at around 100 to 150 max. If theres something alot better ill dish out an extra 50 bucks.
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: updating my cpu

Search youtube... PLENTY of good videos.

I don't know the cpu question though.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: updating my cpu

The procedure for updating your bios varies from mobo to mobo but it's usually quite easy. There should be some directions for updating your mobo on the Asus website. You want to update your bios before you change the cpu
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 11:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: updating my cpu

after tons of researching, I've narrowed it down to either a athlon II x4 635 or 640 which will work with my current mobo with a bios update.
anyone else have any recommendations/feed back would be great.

another quick question. i know i wont get the maximum potential out of my cpu(am i correct on this?) when i swap it out since my HT link wont change from my original 1000 Mhz to 2000 Mhz
are there any other downfalls in doing this? anything that could lower the performance?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V
Intel Core™ i5-3570K @ 4.1
Patriot Viper Xtreme Series, Division Viper 2 Edition DDR3 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC3-12800
HyperX Genesis 4GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 2GB) w/ Intel XMP
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670 OC
Corsair HX650
Corsair 120GB Force Series 3 Solid State Drive SATA III Boot Drive
2TB Seagate + 500 GB Seagate
Coolmaster Storm Sniper Black Edition
The_Lyrics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
updating my old hp stratigicsniper System Upgrades 3 12-06-2009 09:01 PM
Keeps updating Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-16-2007 10:59 PM
Need some updating.......(WOW) TonCrafter PC Gaming 2 06-05-2006 09:13 PM
updating my VGA is it necessary ?;) weswes Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-19-2004 07:05 PM
Updating Hitesh0528 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-14-2004 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.