Updating BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2006, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Updating BIOS

I found my board on the MSI website, but there are 4 different versions of the BIOS. Should I download them all or just the latest one?

And how do I do this:

1. Make a bootable floopy disk
2. Copy the Award flash utility & BIOS file to the said floppy disk.
3. Create an autoexec.bat with "awdfl535 biosfilename" in the content e.g. awadfl535 a619mj21.bin
4. Boot up system with the said floppy (it will take less than 2 minutes before screen comes out)
5. Re-flash the BIOS & reboot.

How do I make a bootable floppy? How do I do #3? Do I go into the BIOS before I do this, set it to boot from floppy, THEN boot from the floppy, or do I just boot with the floppy in the drive? And then when I'm done with all this just remove the watch battery while it is off, put it back in and boot?

Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182

MSI has a feature called "Live Update", it is on this link. I've never used it, because I have a 'boot disk'.
Perhaps 'Live Update ' is the better way to do it, I don't know, you can check it out on the MSI site.
'Flashing your BIOS' is risky, and they tell you don't do it if your system is running ok........ see link......... FWIW.
The up-dated BIOS downloads explain the function of each version, so you have to decide which one is best for you.
* If you are not sure........... Don't Do It.


Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 76

from what i read you need only the latest update but that's for abit motherboards (im not sure if its like a general rule)
Image wasn\'t showing, and the URL was stretching the forum layout. Please fix.
bigfatfrickinfa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.