unsure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to Ffilc7
Default unsure

in the process of purchasing parts for my very first build ( / :amazed. i recently picked up an athlon 64 4000 and an evga 7900gt and im planning on picking up my mobo and RAM next but wasn't exactly sure what i should pick up. i want to get 2 gigs dual channel and have no need for SLI...any advice/direction is much appreciated.
__________________

Ffilc7 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k so you want a MSI K8n neo4-F, and Ram thats PC 4000 (YES IT IS compatible with PC 3200 mobos), both those in combination with a AMD 4000+ would make a kcik *** overclocking rig.

recommened ram, OCZ PC 4000 Gold Series, and G.Skill 2x1GB Dual Channel Extreme
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to Ffilc7
Default

would you think differentely if i dont plan on OC'ing at the time? I'm definitely n00b for now.
Ffilc7 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

i wouldn't go with the pc4000 ram since overclocking can be very scary even if people tell you its easy. since this is your first build i wouldn't oc. get a 2 gig set with low timings like 2-3-2-5. they will perform good
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Default

i got 2 gigs of OCZ Platinum PC3200 with 2-3-2-5 and it works very well.
epsilon is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to Ffilc7
Default

thats the exact RAM im ordering now...most likely goin with the asus a8n-e as well.
Ffilc7 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 10:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k, even if you dont OC now you will definitley OC later, so why not get an OCble board and ram? its not like its gonna cost more.....its not gonna be worse if you dont OC, its just there for you if you want to OC, and its the same price. some of the reasoning people have is VERY VERY odd, "oh im not ocing so ill spend more money on another board, then buy again when i plan to oc" when both come in 1 pack with wat i suggested.
john3 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

you can oc with pc3200 ram anyways and just put a divider on it, no point in spending more money on the pc4000
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

its not MORE money, because that board in combination with the ram costs way more with the G.Skill Extreme and the MSi, put together, they are like $230 in total, whereas the other is like $300+for both.
john3 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you may as well get overclockable components anyway. overclocking components are better quality
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.