Unreal Engine 3 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 10:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

So what your saying is no card on the market will be able to pull of running this new engine.


Besides the unavoidable GPU upgrade will anything else need to be updated?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:54 PM   #22 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

So Will I be able to run my 7800GTX with a PhysX card?? Hopefully the Phys X card will be compatible with current video cards
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No card on the market can run it from what I'm understanding. So everyone will upgrade video cards but is that it?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
So Will I be able to run my 7800GTX with a PhysX card??
yes
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Will the PhysX card use a PCI-E or just a PCI slot
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
Will the PhysX card use a PCI-E or just a PCI slot
It will use PCI (regular), PCI-E x1 and PCI-E x4. Graphics cards use PCI-E x16 so it won't block a gpu port.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

PCIe slot of course. And yes our cards can run the Unreal Engine 3 but it will be pretty ****ty.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I assume a 7800gtx will run ut2007 the same way my 6800gt runs fear ... not great.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:09 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I run FEAR awesome like on my 6800GT. Why are you having so many problems?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Thats total BS that you need to upgrade a videocard to run UT2K7.

A 6800GT (or GS, whatever) runs today's best games on Med or high. A GeForce 7 card runs today's games maxed out.

When UT2K7 comes out, a GeForce 6800GT will run it low or low-end Med. A GeForce 7 will run it Med. And a GeForce 8 will run it high.

No SLI req.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.