Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 02:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Do you need SLI?
What about the suggestions people have made?
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
It could be that the motherboard is bad. have you tried changing cpu's yet?
The whole desktop is at his shop, and since the motherboard is bad, he refuses to put a new CPU in it.
Basically, the motherboard died out, so I am praying that it's only the motherboard that is giving all these problems, I am hoping I can get new egg to let me pay the difference on a new motherboard.

I am asking you guys which it should be, something that won't be acting crazy with the components I have and hopefully make it a smooth building process.

Suggestions?
Thanks.
__________________

Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
Do you need SLI?
What about the suggestions people have made?
I would like to have SLI as an option, so yeah.
But basically, just something that doesn't need to be flashed. Something that's known to work well with what I have.

Thanks again.
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

ask newegg if you can get the same motherboard. That motherboard is great. But if they wont let you exchange for a better one and pay the difference, ask them to give you a replacement.

I did the same thing on my 8800GTS asked for an echange and pay the difference for a better one but they wont let me do it. They will charge me 15% restocking fee and refund the 85% to the card i used. But I dont want that. They offered a free exchange though.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
ask newegg if you can get the same motherboard. That motherboard is great. But if they wont let you exchange for a better one and pay the difference, ask them to give you a replacement.

I did the same thing on my 8800GTS asked for an echange and pay the difference for a better one but they wont let me do it. They will charge me 15% restocking fee and refund the 85% to the card i used. But I dont want that. They offered a free exchange though.
Wait, are you saying to get the same motherboard?
The thing is, the BIOS will need to be flashed, and computer shop is unwilling to do so.

So can you recommend ANOTHER motherboard which will need no flashing or updating and should work smoothly, preferably an intel or asus motherboard?

Thanks.
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

is there a 680i chipset MoBo that won't need to be flashed? I'm not sure there is! (Anyone, correct me if I am wrong here). The P35 chipset would, I think, be OK, but doesn't support SLI.

EDIT: the more you post, the more I worry about your local computer shop. Do they really know what they are doing? How do they know the MoBo is fried? How do you know that it wasn't them that fried it!
Andyf is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:03 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
is there a 680i chipset MoBo that won't need to be flashed? I'm not sure there is! (Anyone, correct me if I am wrong here). The P35 chipset would, I think, be OK, but doesn't support SLI.

EDIT: the more you post, the more I worry about your local computer shop. Do they really know what they are doing? How do they know the MoBo is fried? How do you know that it wasn't them that fried it!
The truth is, I don't trust them too much either way, and I am assuming they probably don't know as much as they make it seem, however, I would like simplify the process as much as possible.

So, newegg agreed to let me replace the motherboard with another one, so if anyone can link me to a motherboard which you know will work with the components smoothly, and hopefully not have to be flashed?

Can anyone confirm Andy's statement that all the compatible motherboards with the exception of the P35 ones will need to be flashed.
Meaning all motherboards which support SLI will need to be flashed?
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:11 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Thanks for your help pinoy, throughout this whole thing.

Do you know that that specific motherboard has been flashed by the company?


Basically, I told the guy at the PC Shop to CHOOSE a motherboard by himself and let me get it so that he can't complain when it gets there, but perhaps I could get an agreement on this one.


Is it preflashed?


EDIT:
I should mention for his sake that the PC shop guy knew about BIOS flashing and appearantly how to do it, he would just prefer to have a motherboard preflashed, because for the setup fee he is charging me, I suppose he doesn't find it appropriate to be pulling in and out parts and stuff.
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Well, as I say, the chipset supports 1333 FSB, but it certainly was the case when the boards were new, that they needed flashing, as is the case with yours...

Hrm.. the eVGA mobo mentioned needs bios version P29 or later, and I have no idea whether the manufacturers keep churning out the originals, and just upload the new bioses online, or whether they come updated. Presumably they need to put a BIOS of some description on, and hence would use the most recent, but then you are gambling on how new the stock is when you buy...

I haven't found any hard answer from searching online since my last post, I'm afraid..

sorry!

mgcook uses an eVGA NF680, he might know!

(oh and both yours and the eVGA are great boards)

p.s. I didn't mean to imply that the P35 is the only 1333FSB chipset, I just mean that I think you wont need to flash them
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
Price check... complete system... if you're bored? Vormund Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 09-06-2007 05:47 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.