Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 10:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i'll support Pinoy's theory... do u happen to have an el cheapo' socket 775 processor like a "Modern" P4, if you do, throw him in there, flash the BIOS and switch it to your qx6850....
I'm not sure whether or not he has one, but he should, and I should have him tested. His theory is rather childish, and I don't believe that MSI would get away with something like that.

If he's making these kinds of excuses, I wouldn't even trust he could carry out that operation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
The 680i chipset does support C2Ds, no matter what board as long as it have this chipset.
That's what I thought. It can't be that an LGA775 simply won't support the processor.
Besides, if this was the case, the video wouldn't boot up for a few seconds.


What frustrated me more than anything is that with all this money invested in a machine like that, it's just been "broken" for a whole month, just sitting there getting old.

....sigh.
__________________

Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i'll support Pinoy's theory... do u happen to have an el cheapo' socket 775 processor like a "Modern" P4, if you do, throw him in there, flash the BIOS and switch it to your qx6850....
Yeah if you can't find one somewhere than you can buy one decently cheap, but after the flash its kinda worthless....
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
Yeah if you can't find one somewhere than you can buy one decently cheap, but after the flash its kinda worthless....
Can someone please further explain the process behind this as this approach is new to me.

Perhaps a link to help me understand what it is I am trying to do?
Am I updating the BIOS on an appearantly old mobo (even though the thing seems to be pretty new) because the default front side bus setting on it does not match or is capable of the CPU that is in it?

If someone can, how difficult is this process, and can it cause any real physical damage, as my warranty just went out.


Thanks for all the help, you guys are helping me a lot more than the guy who's supposed to know all this stuff.
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

I'm in agreement with all of this, P6N should definitely work with any core 2. What the guy says is crazy, all he had to do was check a few websites.

I don't know enough to agree/disagree with that approach, but they guy at the computer shop should have some old P4s, surely? Can't he use an OEM one he has lying around? You need to get your money's worth out of him!
Andyf is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeuk View Post
I'm not sure whether or not he has one, but he should, and I should have him tested. His theory is rather childish, and I don't believe that MSI would get away with something like that.

If he's making these kinds of excuses, I wouldn't even trust he could carry out that operation.



That's what I thought. It can't be that an LGA775 simply won't support the processor.
Besides, if this was the case, the video wouldn't boot up for a few seconds.


What frustrated me more than anything is that with all this money invested in a machine like that, it's just been "broken" for a whole month, just sitting there getting old.

....sigh.
thats a qx6850... its a 1333fsb processor... they don't natively support it... you have to flash.. to the latest version
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Okay, I think I see your problem. The motherboard you have, its a 680i, I know it supports 1333MHz FSB CPU's but you need to flash it first. They do not come pre-flashed to support 1333MHz CPU. In otherwords, you may need to update your bios to the latest version. I wouldnt know how to do that if you have a CPU thats not supported in there, i dont think it would even work.

Also, for the system you got, next time dont get any of Antec's True Power PSU, the ToughPower and Quattro are the best ones they have. Avoid the True Power.
as soon as read ur post knew it too. he is exactly right. u need to download the newwest bios update to support ur new quaddy. and yess the bios update support all the new series of 1333mhz intels. itll work like a charm
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

baron5 n everbody else is right 680i's were designed to be able to handle the 1333fsb when they came out. like they said b4 just download ur newest driver and install it. should load up fine n be playin games n watchin frame rates goes crazy in no time at all.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

My recommendation is go to a local computer store, Best Buy or CompUSA where they sell low end CPU's Buy the E6300, they should be really really really cheap. Then put it on your Mobo, from there it should boot fine. Do what wish, install Windows and what not, Download the BIOS utility tool from MSI's website, download the latest BIOS for your Motherboard and then once done, take your E6300 out and replace it with your 6850. See if it solves the issue, if it doesnt, its likely that some hardware is not connected properly or the motherboard is not working right. You can always get it replaced with newegg.

If everything is working fine, return the E6300. If the motherboard was bad that after flashing the latest BIOS, it still does the same thing, it wouldnt accept the E6300. If it does, then your mobo should be fine after flashing it.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

So I just talked to the guy at the shop.
His bad english got me a little confused, but I think pretty much this is what happenned:

They tried to boot up the system with different RAMS, and different configurations, but basically, it won't come up anymore, not even for a few seconds.

I am going to try to coerce newegg to take back the motherboard and let me pay the difference for a compatible board.


Anyone recommend the best/standard board for the 6850 and won't give trouble with the other components?

Thanks again for all the help.
Jeuk is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeuk View Post
So I just talked to the guy at the shop.
His bad english got me a little confused, but I think pretty much this is what happenned:

They tried to boot up the system with different RAMS, and different configurations, but basically, it won't come up anymore, not even for a few seconds.

I am going to try to coerce newegg to take back the motherboard and let me pay the difference for a compatible board.


Anyone recommend the best/standard board for the 6850 and won't give trouble with the other components?

Thanks again for all the help.
It could be that the motherboard is bad. have you tried changing cpu's yet?
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
Price check... complete system... if you're bored? Vormund Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 09-06-2007 05:47 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.