The ultimate question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2007, 12:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If connecting wires, screwing in screws and pushing in sloted cards seems hard.

Then you ********.
(Use your imagination)
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
It's not that hard. Just do some research, or ask around here.
Are you serious? So a person who has absolutely no idea of any sort about building a computer could do it with no problems?

Because I don't want to buy all the stuff and then get stuck half way and have to call Geek Squad or something. If I'm going to do this, then I want to make sure I can have this thing built like a pro.
__________________

Poon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

not hard at all... the longest part about the process would be doig the research and looking at all the different components and parts out there and researching all the differences between them. That comes with time... but when you do finally have a system you want to build, it'll be like burger king... the way YOU want... not how a company wants to give it to you.

building a system is easy in the fact that for the most part, they all just stick together... click here, plug there, etc... the more difficult part can be the wiring. (I.E. making sure all the wires are in the correct place)

Once you build, not only would you know that you did it, but if something went wrong, you would know hot to FIX it. saving you lots of time and hassle in dealing with a company.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
not hard at all... the longest part about the process would be doig the research and looking at all the different components and parts out there and researching all the differences between them. That comes with time... but when you do finally have a system you want to build, it'll be like burger king... the way YOU want... not how a company wants to give it to you.

building a system is easy in the fact that for the most part, they all just stick together... click here, plug there, etc... the more difficult part can be the wiring. (I.E. making sure all the wires are in the correct place)

Once you build, not only would you know that you did it, but if something went wrong, you would know hot to FIX it. saving you lots of time and hassle in dealing with a company.
So it's sort of like legos then? I am pretty good with legos, so I bet I can do this.

The research part will be kind of taxing for me. Because I don't really know what I need to make my pc according to my specs.
Poon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

The easy way is to tell us how much you have spend, then we do most of the work for ya.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
The easy way is to tell us how much you have spend, then we do most of the work for ya.
Thank you Ste. You are king.

I will review my budget tonight and provide adequate numbers for you later.

I...am.......stoked.
Poon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default

I think the ultimate question is what is the meaning of life? Not what computer is the best buy
Gabb is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn Core 2 Quad QX6700
4gb of DDR2-800
2x 8800GTX
6x500GB RAID5
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 03:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

well you can't tell him that it is very easy to do, he still would have to figure out how to configure the bios to his specifications
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 03:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
he still would have to figure out how to configure the bios to his specifications
Wait a second. What is bios???

I AM going to have to call Geek Squad when I do this aren't I?

I just don't know about all of this. Maybe I would be better off going to Best Buy...
__________________

Poon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.