Ultimate gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2006, 11:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

if its just a grand, stay with the one gig of ram

basicall what nathan said
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 11:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

but for best bang gamewise look at
-generally-
opty 165
neo8
7900gt
2gigs ram
35/74gig raptor hd
psu to match
etc
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 04:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

1 gig of ram isn't going to cut it for anything even close to what he is asking for performance wise. Even for games that are already out. I personally have 1 GB (corsair xms) of ram and it takes a good 2 minutes to load BF2 alone. Oblivion takes awhile as well. And if you play any of the latest RTS's such as AOE III or RON then your ram will fill up fairly quickly at 1 GB and you will be getting annoying choppiness within minutes of playing. Getting a good amount of RAM is even more important than getting a faster processor. If you have to, compensate on that to get at the very least 1.5GB.

If he goes with a Geforce 7 series card he could easily be under the 1k mark, but if he goes with a 512 as I suggested, then he will go over. At this point though, I take back what I said. Every 512mb video card that is being sold takes up two PCI-E slots (covers the other up due to size) and wastes it, elimating the possibility to expand when needed. Either wait for smaller ones to come out or just go with a 7 series 256mb.
Thresh is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

Long loading times are often due to slower hard disk drives. Ram is very easy to upgrade later on so maybe get 2x512mb now (for dual channel) and another 2x512mb later on.
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Actually, hard drives are rarely the issue when loading times are slower. They do play a part, but not nearly as big as RAM will. RAM will bottleneck a loading time before a hard drive will. I'm saying this out of personal experience and factual knowledge.
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.