This the ultimate gaming comp build? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 12:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by old_geekster50
Why spend 200% for two video cards and get 30% increase in performance if you are lucky.
because you can :-P

actually you can get quad 7900gtx 512mb's now ... at least from dell you can lol PWN

Quote:
Originally posted by old_geekster50
Besides, you can mod the Ultra-D to SLI. This appears to be a fairly simply process.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...ht=ultra-D+mod
NOT ANYMORE DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS WITH A NEW BOARD YOU WILL RUIN IT AND BE 180 DOLLARS IN THE HOLE.

Quote:
Originally posted by old_geekster50
From my research, it appears to me that ATI is still having major problems with their drivers. I have used nVidia cards and drivers for years and have never had any problems with them.

Also, nVidia cards have 24 pipelines.

nVidia FTW!!!111 lolpwn
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Yeah, DFI made it impossible to mod it to be SLI capable. that sucks
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 06:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

How did they make it impossible?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 06:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yea really didn't they just put epoxy over the contacts a few months ago? I'n pretty sure you can still do it.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 07:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by old_geekster50
I agree.

Why spend 200% for two video cards and get 30% increase in performance if you are lucky.

those numbers are a bit misleading... (they make sense if you read carefully..)

so say it like this

spend 200% and get 130% performance.

OR

spend an extra 100% and get an extra 30% performance.

this way the price/performance comparison is direct.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 07:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kiyotaka
ok, noted.. this comp is going to be overclocked too XD (I know i'm psycho)
No your not, your ****ing retarted.
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tordenskjold
No your not, your ****ing retarted.
Wtf?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tordenskjold
No your not, your ****ing retarted.
lol GOODBYYYYYEE
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by will h4x 4 food
lol GOODBYYYYYEE
i second that....

why is he "stupid" for overclocking a computer?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 03:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

I think he means that it's already great and overclocking it wouldnt have that much of a performance increase. All it would do is void your warranty. or he's just mean
__________________

rabblerouser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.