Ultimate gamimg PC... spec suggestions? - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2005, 08:56 PM   #81 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

OK how about I get just one eVGA 7800GTX 512mb now and save up for another?
__________________

bigtrain. is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:26 PM   #82 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

thats a good idea but whatever you do dont buy it now, because its $749 wait for a price drop and spend the money u saved up by getting when its cheaper and spen the money in another part of the computer.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:34 PM   #83 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

the 7800gtx 512mb is not 749, check over at monarch computers for a 699 price
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:46 PM   #84 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

monarch has them for just under $700, although that's still really expensive.
I say wait a week or 2 for other vendors to get them out, then buy one (or 2) when the prices drop
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 01:02 AM   #85 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

If its under $700 that will do me... I've already waited too long for this PC and 700 is a big drop from 1200 for the dual cards i mentioned earlier
bigtrain. is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:52 AM   #86 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

OK guys this is more or less the finished product... however, I am still open to suggestions and I beg you to tell me if I can get anything for better value! (My friend used techbuy.com.au to buy stuff so please go there to compare prices). Also, the GFX setup has caused me the most problems... will I be able to run any game for the next year on full GFX settings and still have it run smoothly? Because that's really what this whole PC is about!

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Socket 939 --- $290
2GB (4 x 512MB) DDR2 RAM --- $280
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ CPU --- $755
Sony 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive Black --- $16.30
Western Digital Raptor WD740GD 37GB 10,000RPM --- $199
Hitachi Deskstar 200GB 7200RPM SATA --- $200
Lite on CD/DVD Burner --- $80
(2X) XFX GeForce 6800GS 256MB DVI, TV out, HDTV, SLI ready - PCIEx16 --- $450 x2 = $900
Creative Audigy 2 ZS --- $174.55
Logitech Cordless Desktop KB+M LX300 --- $94.90
4ms 19¬Ē LCD Monitor --- $720
COOLER MASTER Cavalier w/ PSU --- $230.00
Microsoft Windows XP Professional OEM
Warranty: 1 year back to base

Total : $3879.75 (incl. GST)

Thanks for any comments!
bigtrain. is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:02 PM   #87 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Also, is the HDD setup wise? I plan to put my OS on the faster 37GB one and my games and other apps on the slower one...
bigtrain. is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:31 PM   #88 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

OK I've decided to get ONE Asus 7800GT 256mb instead, because it is cheaper than the 2 6800s. I'll be able to save up for another 7800GT as well and survive for a long time... what do you guys think about it?
bigtrain. is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:54 PM   #89 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR2 RAM
AMD Athlon64 3500+ CPU


AMD doesn't support DDR2 you may want to throw in 2GB as well DDR1 RAM.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:42 PM   #90 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

I'm going for the 4 x 512mb RAM because it is cheaper than getting 2 x 1gb and also because I spoke to a guy at a computer store and he told me some program run faster on a 4 x 512 setup because the data is more centralised, or something along those lines.

My friend has convinced me that he can pput DDR2 into the PC so I'm leaving it like that ot humour him, lol, he will buy me some normal DDR when he sees it won't fir though.

Why do you suggest the 3500 over the 4200?
__________________

bigtrain. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.